1949 Academy Awards

Updated September 9, 2022 | Infoplease Staff

The 1949 Academy Awards were presented March 23, 1950 at the RKO Pantages Theatre, Hollywood, Calif.

Best Motion PictureAll the King's Men (Robert Rossen Productions; Columbia)
Battleground (MGM)
The Heiress (Paramount)
A Letter to Three Wives (Twentieth Century-Fox)
Twelve O'Clock High (Twentieth Century-Fox)
Best ActorBroderick Crawford, All the King's Men
Kirk Douglas, Champion
Gregory Peck, Twelve O'Clock High
Richard Todd, The Hasty Heart
John Wayne, Sands of lwo Jima

Broderick Crawford, All the King's Men
Archive Photos
Best ActressJeanne Crain, Pinky
Olivia de Havilland, The Heiress
Susan Hayward, My Foolish Heart
Deborah Kerr, Edward, My Son
Loretta Young, Come to the Stable
Actor in a Supporting RoleJohn Ireland, All the King's Men
Dean Jagger, Twelve O'Clock High
Arthur Kennedy, Champion
Ralph Richardson, The Heiress
James Whitmore, Battleground
Actress in a Supporting RoleEthel Barrymore, Pinky
Celeste Holm, Come to the Stable
Elsa Lanchester, Come to the Stable
Mercedes McCambridge, All the King's Men
Ethel Waters, Pinky
DirectingJoseph L. Mankiewicz, A Letter to Three Wives
Carol Reed, The Fallen Idol
Robert Rossen, All the King's Men
William A. Wellman, Battleground
William Wyler, The Heiress
Motion Picture StoryHarry Brown, Sands of Iwo Jima
Virginia Kellogg, White Heat
Clare Boothe Luce, Come to the Stable
Douglas Morrow, The Stratton Story
Shirley W. Smith and Valentine Davies, It Happens Every Spring
ScreenplayCarl Foreman, Champion
Graham Greene, The Fallen Idol
Joseph L. Mankiewicz, A Letter to Three Wives
Robert Rossen, All the King's Men
Cesare Zavattini, The Bicycle Thief
Story and ScreenplaySidney Buchman, Jolson Sings Again
T. E. B. Clarke, Passport to Pimlico
Alfred Hayes, Federico Fellini, Sergio Amidei, Marcello Pagliero and Roberto Rossellini, Paisan
Helen Levitt, Janice Loeb and Sidney Meyers, The Quiet One
Robert Pirosh, Battleground
Black-and-WhiteJoseph LaShelle, Come to the Stable
Frank Planer, Champion
Leon Shamroy, Prince of Foxes
Leo Tover, The Heiress
Paul C. Vogel, Battleground
ColorCharles G. Clarke, Sand
Winton Hoch, She Wore a Yellow Ribbon
Robert Planck and Charles Schoenbaum, Little Women
William Snyder, Jolson Sings Again
Harry Stradling, The Barkleys of Broadway
Art Direction
Black-and-WhiteCedric Gibbons and Jack Martin Smith, art direction; Edwin B. Willis and Richard A. Pefferle, set decoration, Madame Bovary
John Meehan and Harry Horner, art direction; Emile Kuri, set decoration, The Heiress
Lyle Wheeler and Joseph C. Wright, art direction; Thomas Little and Paul S. Fox, set decoration, Come to the Stable
ColorEdward Carrere, art direction; Lyle Reifsnider, set decoration, The Adventures of Don Juan
Cedric Gibbons and Paul Groesse; Edwin B. Willis and Jack D. Moore, Little Women
Jim Morahan, William Kellner and Michael Relph, art direction, Saraband
Sound RecordingRepublic Studio Sound Department, Sands of Iwo Jima
Twentieth Century-Fox Studio Sound Department, Twelve O'Clock High
Universal-International Studio Sound Department, Once More, My Darling
Song“Baby, It's Cold Outside,” Neptune's Daughter, Frank Loesser, music and lyrics]
“It's a Great Feeling,” It's a Great Feeling, Jule Styne, music; Sammy Cahn, lyrics
“Lavender Blue,” So Dear to My Heart, Eliot Daniel, music; Larry Morey, lyrics
“My Foolish Heart,” My Foolish Heart, Victor Young, music; Ned Washington, lyrics
“Through a Long and Sleepless Night,” Come to the Stable, Alfred Newman, music; Mack Gordon, lyrics
Scoring of a Comedy or Dramatic PictureAaron Copland, The Heiress
Max Steiner, Beyond the Forest
Dimitri Tiomkin, Champion
Scoring of a Musical PictureRoger Edens and Lennie Hayton, On the Town
Ray Heindorf, Look for the Silver Lining
Morris Stoloff and George Duning, Jolson Sings Again
Film EditingJohn Dunning, Battleground
Harry Gerstad, Champion
Frederic Knudtson, The Window
Robert Parrish and Al Clark, All the King's Men
Richard L. Van Enger, Sands of Iwo Jima
Costume Design
Black-and-WhiteEdith Head and Gile Steele, The Heiress
Vittorio Nino Novarese, Prince of Foxes
ColorKay Nelson, Mother Is a Freshman
Leah Rhodes, Travilla and Marjorie Best, The Adventures of Don Juan
Special EffectsMighty Joe Young (Arko Production; RKO Radio)
Tulsa (Walter Wagner; Eagle Lion)
Short Subjects
CartoonCanary Row (Merrie Melodies Series) (Warner Bros. Cartoons, Inc.; Warner Bros.) (Nomination withdrawn by producer.)
For Scent-imental Reasons (Merrie Melodies Series) (Warner Bros. Cartoons, Inc.; Warner Bros.)
Hatch Up Your Troubles (Tom and Jerry Series) (Frederick Quimby, producer; MGM)
The Magic Fluke (Fox and Crow Series) (United Productions of America; Columbia)
Toy Tinkers (Donald Duck Series) (Walt Disney Productions; RKO Radio)
One-ReelAquatic House-Party (Grantland Rice Sportlights Series) (Jack Eaton, producer; Paramount)
Roller Derby Girl (Pacemaker Series) (Justin Herman, producer; Paramount)
So You Think You're Not Guilty (John McDoakes Series) (Gordon Hollingshead, producer; Warner Bros.)
Spills and Chills (Sports News Review Series) (Walton C. Ament, producer; Warner Bros.)
Water Trix (Pete Smith Specialties Series) (Pete Smith, producer; MGM)
Two-ReelThe Boy and the Eagle (William Lasky, producer; RKO Radio)
Chase of Death (Irving Allen Productions)
The Grass Is Always Greener (Gordon Hollingshead, producer; Warner Bros.)
Snow Carnival (Two-reel Technicolor Series) (Gordon Hollingshead, producer; Warner Bros.)
Van Gogh (Gaston Diehl and Robert Haeessens, producers; Canton-Weiner Films)
Short Subject (tie)A Chance to Live (March of Time Series) (Richard de Rochemont, producer; Twentieth Century-Fox)
1848 (A. F. Films; French Cinema General Cooperative)
The Rising Tide (National Film Board of Canada; St. Francis-Xavier University)
So Much for So Little (Warner Bros. Cartoons, Inc.; Warner Bros.)
FeatureDaybreak in Udi (British Information Services; Crown Film Unit)
Kenji Comes Home (Paul F. Heard, producer; Protestant Film Commission)
Special AwardsTo The Bicycle Thief (Italy), voted by the Academy Board of Governors as the most outstanding foreign language film released in the United States during 1949
To Bobby Driscoll, oustanding juvenile actor of 1949
To Fred Astaire for his unique artistry and his contributions to the technique of musical pictures
To Cecil B. DeMille, distinguished motion picture pioneer, for 37 years of brilliant showmanship
To Jean Hersholt for distinguished service to the motionpicture industry

Sources +