1930–1931 Academy Awards

Updated September 9, 2022 | Infoplease Staff

The 1930–1931 Academy Awards were presented Nov. 10, 1931 at the Biltmore Hotel, Los Angeles.

Outstanding ProductionCimarron (RKO Radio)
East Lynne (Fox)
The Front Page (Caddo, United Artists)
Skippy (Paramount Publix)
Trader Horn (MGM)
Best ActorLionel Barrymore, A Free Soul
Jackie Cooper, Skippy
Richard Dix, Cimarron
Fredric March, The Royal Family of Broadway
Adolphe Menjou, The Front Page
Best ActressMarlene Dietrich, Morocco
Marie Dressler, Min and Bill
Irene Dunne, Cimarron
Ann Harding, Holiday
Norma Shearer, A Free Soul
DirectingClarence Brown, A Free Soul
Lewis Milestone, The Front Page
Wesley Ruggles, Cimarron
Norman Taurog, Skippy
Josef Von Sternberg, Morocco
AdaptationHoward Estabrook, Cimarron
Francis Faragoh and Robert N. Lee, Little Caesar
Horace Jackson, Holiday
Joseph L. Mankiewicz and Sam Mintz, Skippy
Seton Miller and Fred Niblo, Jr., The Criminal Code
Original StoryJohn Bright and Kubec Glasmon, The Public Enemy
Rowland Brown, The Doorway to Hell
Harry d'Abbadie d'Arrast, Douglas Doty and Donald Ogden Stewart, Laughter
Lucien Hubbard and Joseph Jackson, Smart Money
John Monk Saunders, The Dawn Patrol
CinematographyEdward Cronjager, Cimarron
Floyd Crosby, Tabu
Lee Garmes, Morocco
Charles Lang, The Right to Love
Barney “Chick” McGill, Svengali
Art DirectionRichard Day, Whoopee!
Hans Dreier, Morocco
Stephen Goosson and Ralph Hammeras, Just Imagine
Anton Grot, Svengali
Max Ree, Cimmaron
Sound RecordingMGM Studio Sound Department
Paramount Publix Studio Sound Department
RKO Radio Studio Sound Department
Samuel Goldwyn-United Artists Studio Sound Department

Sources +