Football Trophies

Updated July 24, 2020 | Infoplease Staff

The Question:

What are the names of the trophies awarded to the the American Football Conference and the National Football Conference champions?

The Answer:

The AFC Championship Trophy is called the Lamar Hunt Trophy. Hunt, founder and owner of the Kansas City Chiefs, was a leading founder of the AFL and is also an inductee in the International Tennis Hall of Fame, the Soccer Hall of Fame, and the NFL Hall of Fame.

The NFC Championship Trophy is called the George Halas Trophy. During his long career, Halas was a player, a coach, and an owner of the Chicago Bears and was elected to NFL Hall of Fame in 1963.

-The Editors

Sources +
See also: