State Compulsory School Attendance Laws
Here's a list of each U.S. state's compulsory school attendance laws and the date they were implemented.
|District of Columbia||1864||5–18|
NOTE: (—) = not available.
1. Date of enactment of first compulsory attendance law.
2. In Maine, students must be at least 5 years old before October 15, or 4 years old by October 15 if they are enrolled in a public preschool program prior to kindergarten (where offered).
3. In Rhode Island, the compulsory age is 16 if a student has an alternative learning plan for obtaining a high school diploma or its equivalent.
4. In South Dakota, the compulsory age limit is 16 if a child enrolls in a general education development test preparation program that is school-based or for which a school contracts, and the child successfully completes the test or reaches the age of 18.
Source: Department of Education, National Center for Educational Statistics, Digest of Education Statistics, 2004.
|Elementary and High School Education|
Here are the facts and trivia that people are buzzing about.