The Seven Sisters

The ?seven sisters? is a group of historically women's colleges generally seen as the female equivalent of the Ivy League.

Date foundedNameEnrollment
1836Mount Holyoke College2,073
1861Vassar College2,4751
1870Wellesley College2,289
1871Smith College3,159
1880Bryn Mawr College1,772
1889Barnard College2,287
1894Radcliffe College(2)
1. Became coeducational in 1969.
2. Merged with Harvard University in 1999.
Source: Peterson's Database, copyright 2005. Peterson's, a part of the Thomson Corporation. Web: /node/4994 .

Enrollment in Postsecondary Education by Major Field of Study, 2003?2004Higher EducationColonial American and Ivy League Colleges
Sources +