Elijah Wood

Date Of Birth:
28 January 1981
Place Of Birth:
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Elijah Wood played the hobbit Frodo Baggins in Peter Jackson's movie trilogy The Lord of the Rings, based on the fantasy novels by J. R. R. Tolkien. The first film in the series, The Fellowship of the Ring, was a box-office hit in 2001; it was followed by The Two Towers in 2002 and The Return of the King in 2003. Wood had been a busy child actor before that, first appearing in small roles on TV and in the movies in the late 1980s. He had significant parts in the movies Avalon (1990), Radio Flyer (1992) and The Good Son (1993), and starred in the 1993 version of The Adventures of Huck Finn. In his teen years, he appeared in The Ice Storm (1997, with Sigourney Weaver), Deep Impact (1998, with Leelee Sobieski) and The Faculty (1998, with Josh Hartnett). His other films include Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind (2004, with Mark Ruffalo), Frank Miller's Sin City (2005, with Jessica Alba) and Happy Feet (2006), and in 2011 he starred in the cable TV comedy Wilfred.
See also: