The All-Star Game

Updated August 28, 2020 | Infoplease Staff

The All-Star Game

Baseball’s first All-Star Game was held on July 6, 1933, before 47,595 at Comiskey Park in Chicago. From that year on, the All- Star Game has matched the best players in the American League against the best in the National. From 1959-62, two All-Star Games were played. The only year an All-Star Game wasn’t played was 1945, when World War II travel restrictions made it necessary to cancel the meeting. The NL leads the series, 40-33-2. In the chart below, the American League is listed in bold type.

The All-Star Game MVP Award is named after Arch Ward, the Chicago Tribune sports editor who founded the game in 1933. First given at the two All-Star games in 1962, the name of the award was changed to the Commissioner's Trophy in 1970 and back to the Ward Memorial Award in 1985.

Since 2002, the game’s MVP award has been named the Ted Williams Award, after the Red Sox Hall of Famer. Beginning 2003, the league that won the All-Star Game received home-field advantage in that season’s World Series.

MVP Multiple winners: Gary Carter, Steve Garvey, Willie Mays and Cal Ripken Jr. (2).

Year Host AL Manager NL Manager MVP
1933 American, 4-2 Chicago (AL) Connie Mack John McGraw No award
1934 American, 9-7 New York (NL) Joe Cronin Bill Terry No award
1935 American, 4-1 Cleveland Mickey Cochrane Frankie Frisch No award
1936 National, 4-3 Boston (NL) Joe McCarthy Charlie Grimm No award
1937 American, 8-3 Washington Joe McCarthy Bill Terry No award
1938 National, 4-1 Cincinnati Joe McCarthy Bill Terry No award
1939 American, 3-1 New York (AL) Joe McCarthy Gabby Hartnett No award
1940 National, 4-0 St. Louis (NL) Joe Cronin Bill McKechnie No award
1941 American, 7-5 Detroit Del Baker Bill McKechnie No award
1942 American, 3-1 New York (NL) Joe McCarthy Leo Durocher No award
1943 American, 5-3 Philadelphia (AL) Joe McCarthy Billy Southworth No award
1944 National, 7-1 Pittsburgh Joe McCarthy Billy Southworth No award
1945 Not held
1946 American, 12-0 Boston (AL) Steve O'Neill Charlie Grimm No award
1947 American, 2-1 Chicago (NL) Joe Cronin Eddie Dyer No award
1948 American, 5-2 St. Louis (AL) Bucky Harris Leo Durocher No award
1949 American, 11-7 Brooklyn Lou Boudreau Billy Southworth No award
1950 National, 4-3 (14) Chicago (AL) Casey Stengel Burt Shotton No award
1951 National, 8-3 Detroit Casey Stengel Eddie Sawyer No award
1952 National, 3-2 (5, rain) Philadelphia (NL) Casey Stengel Leo Durocher No award
1953 National, 5-1 Cincinnati Casey Stengel Charlie Dressen No award
1954 American, 11-9 Cleveland Casey Stengel Walter Alston No award
1955 National, 6-5 (12) Milwaukee Al Lopez Leo Durocher No award
1956 National, 7-3 Washington Casey Stengel Walter Alston No award
1957 American, 6-5 St. Louis Casey Stengel Walter Alston No award
1958 American, 4-3 Baltimore Casey Stengel Fred Haney No award
1959-a National, 5-4 Pittsburgh Casey Stengel Fred Haney No award
1959-b American, 5-3 Los Angeles Casey Stengel Fred Haney No award
1960-a National, 5-3 Kansas City Al Lopez Walter Alston No award
1960-b National, 6-0 New York Al Lopez Walter Alston No award
1961-a National, 5-4 (10) San Francisco Paul Richards Danny Murtaugh No award
1961-b TIE, 1-1 (9, rain) Boston Paul Richards Danny Murtaugh No award
1962-a National, 3-1 Washington Ralph Houk Fred Hutchinson Maury Wills, LA (NL), SS
1962-b American, 9-4 Chicago (NL) Ralph Houk Fred Hutchinson Leon Wagner, LA (AL), OF
1963 National, 5-3 Cleveland Ralph Houk Alvin Dark Willie Mays, SF, OF
1964 National, 7-4 New York (NL) Al Lopez Walter Alston Johnny Callison, Phi., OF
1965 National, 6-5 Minnesota Al Lopez Gene Mauch Juan Marichal, SF, P
1966 National, 2-1 (10) St. Louis Sam Mele Walter Alston Brooks Robinson, Bal., 3B
1967 National, 2-1 (15) California Hank Bauer Walter Alston Tony Perez, Cin., 3B
1968 National, 1-0 Houston Dick Williams Red Schoendienst Willie Mays, SF, OF
1969 National, 9-3 Washington Mayo Smith Red Schoendienst Willie McCovey, SF, 1B
1970 National, 5-4 (12) Cincinnati Earl Weaver Gil Hodges Carl Yastrzemski, Bos., OF-1B
1971 American, 6-4 Detroit Earl Weaver Sparky Anderson Frank Robinson, Bal., OF
1972 National, 4-3 (10) Atlanta Earl Weaver Danny Murtaugh Joe Morgan, Con., 2B
1973 National, 7-1 Kansas Dick Williams Sparky Anderson Bobby Bonds, SF, OF
1974 National, 7-2 Pittsburgh Dick Williams Yogi Berra Steve Garvey, LA, 1B
1975 National, 6-3 Milwaukee Alvin Dark Walter Alston Bill Madlock, Chi. (NL), 3B
& Jon Matlack, NY (NL), P
1976 National, 7-1 Philadelphia Darrell Johnson Sparky Anderson George Foster, Cin., OF
1977 National, 7-5 New York (AL) Billy Martin Sparky Anderson Don Sutton, LA, P
1978 National, 7-3 San Diego Billy Martin Tommy Lasorda Steve Garvey, LA, 1B
1979 National, 7-6 Seattle Bob Lemon Tommy Lasorda Dave Parker, Pit, OF
1980 National, 4-2 Los Angeles Earl Weaver Chuck Tanner Ken Griffey, Cin., OF
1981 National, 5-4 Cleveland Jim Frey Dallas Green Gary Carter, Mon., C
1982 National, 4-1 Montreal Billy Martin Tommy Lasorda Dave Concepcion, Cin., SS
1983 American, 13-3 Chicago (AL) Harvey Kuenn Whitey Herzog Fred Lynn, Cal., OF
1984 National, 3-1 San Francisco Joe Altobelli Paul Owens Gary Carter, Mon., C
1985 National, 6-1 Minnesota Sparky Anderson Dick Williams LaMarr Hoyt, SD, P
1986 American, 3-2 Houston Dick Howser Whitey Herzog Roger Clemens, Bos., P
1987 National, 2-0 (13) Oakland John McNamara Davey Johnson Tim Raines, Mon., OF
1988 American, 2-1 Cincinnati Tom Kelly Whitey Herzog Terry Steinbach, Oak., C
1989 American, 5-3 California Tony La Russa Tommy Lasorda Bo Jackson, KC, OF
1990 American, 2-0 Chicago (NL) Tony La Russa Roger Craig Julio Franco, Tex., 2B
1991 American, 4-2 Toronto Tony La Russa Lou Piniella Cal Ripken Jr., Bal., SS
1992 American, 13-6 San Diego Tom Kelly Bobby Cox Ken Griffey Jr., Sea., OF
1993 American, 9-3 Baltimore Cito Gaston Bobby Cox Kirby Puckett, Min., OF
1994 National, 8-7 (10) Pittsburgh Cito Gaston Jim Fregosi Fred McGriff, Atl., 1B
1995 National, 3-2 Texas Buck Showalter Felipe Alou Jeff Conine, Fla., PH
1996National, 6-0PhiladelphiaMike HargroveBobby CoxMike Piazza, LA, C
1997American, 3-1ClevelandJoe TorreBobby CoxSandy Alomar Jr., Cle., C
1998American, 13-8ColoradoMike HargroveJim LeylandRoberto Alomar, Bal., 2B
1999American, 4-1BostonJoe TorreBruce BochyPedro Martinez, Bos., P
2000American, 6-3AtlantaJoe TorreBobby CoxDerek Jeter, NY (AL), SS
2001American, 4-1SeattleJoe TorreBobby ValentineCal Ripken Jr., Bal., SS-3B
2002 TIE, 7-7 (11 inn.) *Milwaukee Joe TorreBob BrenlyNo award
2003 American, 7-6Chicago (AL)Mike Scioscia Dusty Baker Garret Anderson, Ana., OF
2004 American, 9-4 Houston Joe TorreJack McKeon Alfonso Soriano, Tex., 2B
* Due to the depletion of both the AL and NL rosters, Commissioner Bud Selig announced before the bottom of the 11th inning that the 11th would be the final inning.

Regular Season League & Division WinnersThrough The YearsMajor League Franchise Origins
Baseball Through the Years
Sources +
See also: