2006 Tony (Antoinette Perry) Awards

Updated February 11, 2017 | Infoplease Staff

The Tony Awards, honoring distinguished achievement in Broadway theater, were presented on June 11, 2006.

Play: The History Boys
Musical: Jersey Boys
Revival?Play: Awake and Sing!
Revival?Musical: The Pajama Game
Actor?Play: Richard Griffiths, The History Boys
Actress?Play: Cynthia Nixon, Rabbit Hole
Actor?Musical: John Lloyd Young, Jersey Boys
Actress?Musical: LaChanze, The Color Purple
Featured Actor?Play: Ian McDiarmid, Faith Healer
Featured Actress?Play: Frances de la Tour, The History Boys
Featured Actor?Musical: Christian Hoff, Jersey Boys
Featured Actress?Musical: Beth Leavel, The Drowsy Chaperone
Director?Play: Nicholas Hytner, The History Boys
Director?Musical: John Doyle, Sweeney Todd
Book?Musical: Bob Martin and Don McKellar, The Drowsy Chaperone
Score?Musical: Lisa Lambert and Greg Morrison, The Drowsy Chaperone
Orchestration: Ted Sperling, Adam Guettel, and Bruce Coughlin, The Light in the Piazza
Scenic Designer?Play: Bob Crowley, The History Boys
Scenic Designer?Musical: David Gallo, The Drowsy Chaperone
Costume Designer?Play: Catherine Zuber, Awake and Sing!
Costume Designer?Musical: Gregg Barnes, The Drowsy Chaperone
Choreographer: Kathleen Marshall, The Pajama Game
Lighting Designer?Play: Mark Henderson, The History Boys
Lighting Designer?Musical: Howell Binkley, Jersey Boys
Special Award: Harold Prince, for lifetime achievement
Special Award: Sarah Jones
Regional Theatre: Intiman Theatre, Seattle, Wash.