2005 Tony (Antoinette Perry) Awards

Updated September 9, 2022 | Infoplease Staff

The Tony Awards, honoring distinguished achievement in Broadway theater, were presented on June 5, 2005.

Play: Doubt
Musical: Monty Python's Spamalot
Revival—Play: Glengarry Glen Ross
Revival—Musical: La Cage aux Folles
Actor—Play: Bill Irwin, Edward Albee's Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf?
Actress—Play: Cherry Jones, Doubt
Actor—Musical: Norbert Leo Butz, Dirty Rotten Scoundrels
Actress—Musical: Victoria Clark, The Light in the Piazza
Featured Actor—Play: Liev Schreiber, Glengarry Glen Ross
Featured Actress—Play: Adriane Lenox, Doubt
Featured Actor—Musical: Dan Fogler, The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee
Featured Actress—Musical: Sara Ramirez, Monty Python's Spamalot
Director—Play: Doug Hughes, Doubt
Director—Musical: Mike Nichols, Monty Python's Spamalot
Book—Musical: Rachel Sheinkin, The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee
Score—Musical: Adam Guettel, The Light in the Piazza
Orchestration: Ted Sperling, Adam Guettel, and Bruce Coughlin, The Light in the Piazza
Scenic Designer—Play: Scott Pask, The Pillowman
Scenic Designer—Musical: Michael Yeargan, The Light in the Piazza
Costume Designer—Play: Jess Goldstein, The Rivals
Costume Designer—Musical: Catherine Zuber, The Light in the Piazza
Choreographer: Jerry Mitchell, La Cage aux Folles
Lighting Designer—Play: Brian MacDevitt, The Pillowman
Lighting Designer—Musical: Christopher Akerlind, The Light in the Piazza
Regional Theater: Theatre de la Jeune Lune, Minneapolis, Minn.
Special Award: Edward Albee, for lifetime achievement
Special Theatrical Event: Billy Crystal 700 Sundays

Sources +