1988 Academy Awards

Updated September 9, 2022 | Infoplease Staff

The 1988 Academy Awards were presented April 29, 1989 at the Shrine Civic Auditorium, Los Angeles.

Best PictureThe Accidental Tourist, Lawrence Kasdan, Charles Okun and Michael Grillo, producers (Warner Bros.)
Dangerous Liaisons, Norma Heyman and Hank Moonjean, producers (Warner Bros.)
Mississippi Burning, Frederick Zollo and Robert F. Colesberry, producers (Orion)
Rain Man, Mark Johnson, producer (United Artists)
Working Girl, Douglas Wick, producer (Twentieth Century-Fox)
Actor in a Leading RoleGene Hackman, Mississippi Burning
Tom Hanks, Big
Dustin Hoffman, Rain Man
Edward James Olmos, Stand and Deliver
Max von Sydow, Pelle the Conqueror
Actress in a Leading RoleGlenn Close, Dangerous Liaisons
Jodie Foster, The Accused
Melanie Griffith, Working Girl
Meryl Streep, A Cry in the Dark
Sigourney Weaver, Gorillas in the Mist
Actor in a Supporting RoleAlec Guinness, Little Dorrit
Kevin Kline, A Fish Called Wanda
Martin Landau, Tucker: The Man and His Dream
River Phoenix, Running on Empty
Dean Stockwell, Married to the Mob
Actress in a Supporting RoleJoan Cusack, Working Girl
Geena Davis, The Accidental Tourist
Frances McDormand, Mississippi Burning
Michelle Pfeiffer, Dangerous Liaisons
Sigourney Weaver, Working Girl
DirectingCharles Crichton, A Fish Called Wanda
Barry Levinson, Rain Man
Mike Nichols, Working Girl
Alan Parker, Mississippi Burning
Martin Scorsese, The Last Temptation of Christ
Screenplay Written Directly for the ScreenRonald Bass and Barry Morrow, screenplay; Barry Morrow, story, Rain Man
John Cleese, screenplay; John Cleese and Charles Crichton, story, A Fish Called Wanda
Naomi Foner, Running on Empty
Gary Ross and Anne Spielberg, Big
Ron Shelton, Bull Durham
Screenplay Based on Material From Another MediumJean-Claude Carrière and Philip Kaufman, The Unbearable Lightness of Being
Christine Edzard, Little Dorrit
Frank Galati and Lawrence Kasdan, The Accidental Tourist
Christopher Hampton, Dangerous Liaisons
Anna Hamilton Phelan, screenplay; Anna Hamilton Phelan and Tab Murphy, story, Gorillas in the Mist
CinematographyPeter Biziou, Mississippi Burning
Dean Cundey, Who Framed Roger Rabbit
Conrad L. Hall, Tequila Sunrise
Sven Nykvist, The Unbearable Lightness of Being
John Seale, Rain Man
Art DirectionAlbert Brenner, art direction; Garrett Lewis, set decoration, Beaches
Stuart Craig, art direction; Gerard James, set decoration, Dangerous Liaisons
Ida Random, art direction; Linda DeScenna, set decoration, Rain Man
Elliot Scott, art direction; Peter Howitt, set decoration, Who Framed Roger Rabbit
Dean Tavoularis, art direction; Armin Ganz, set decoration, Tucker: The Man and His Dream
SoundDon Bassman, Kevin F. Cleary, Richard Overton and Al Overton, Die Hard
Les Fresholtz, Dick Alexander, Vern Poore and Willie D. Burton, Bird
Robert Knudson, John Boyd, Don Digirolamo and Tony Dawe, Who Framed Roger Rabbit
Robert Litt, Elliot Tyson, Rick Kline and Danny Michael, Mississippi Burning
Andy Nelson, Brian Saunders and Peter Handford, Gorillas in the Mist
Song“Calling You,” Bagdad Cafe, Bob Telson, music and lyrics
“Let the River Run,” Working Girl, Carly Simon, music and lyrics
“Two Hearts,” Buster, Lamont Dozier, music; Phil Collins, lyrics
Original ScoreGeorge Fenton, Dangerous Liaisons
Dave Grusin, The Milagro Beanfield War
Maurice Jarre, Gorillas in the Mist
John Williams, The Accidental Tourist
Hans Zimmer, Rain Man
Film EditingStuart Baird, Gorillas in the Mist
Gerry Hambling, Mississippi Burning
Stu Linder, Rain Man
Arthur Schmidt, Who Framed Roger Rabbit
Frank J. Urioste and John F. Link, Die Hard
Costume DesignJames Acheson, Dangerous Liaisons
Milena Canonero, Tucker: The Man and His Dream
Deborah Nadoolman, Coming to America
Patricia Norris, Sunset
Jane Robinson, A Handful of Dust
MakeupRick Baker, Coming to America
Tom Burman and Bari Dreiband-Burman, Scrooged
Ve Neill, Steve La Porte and Robert Short, Beetlejuice
Visual EffectsRichard Edlund, Al DiSarro, Brent Boates and Thaine Morris, Die Hard
Dennis Muren, Michael McAlister, Phil Tippett and Chris Evans, Willow
Ken Ralston, Richard Williams, Edward Jones and George Gibbs, Who Framed Roger Rabbit
Sound Effects EditingBen Burtt and Richard Hymns, Willow
Charles L. Campbell and Louis L. Edemann, Who Framed Roger Rabbit
Stephen H. Flick and Richard Shorr, Die Hard
Short Films
AnimationThe Cat Came Back (Cordell Barker, producer; National Film Board of Canada)
Technological Threat (Bill Kroyer and Brian Jennings, producers; Kroyer Films, Inc.)
Tin Toy (John Lasseter and William Reeves, producers; Pixar)
Live ActionThe Appointments of Dennis Jennings (Dean Parisot and Steven Wright, producer; Schooner Productions, Inc.)
Cadillac Dreams (Matia Karrell and Abbee Goldstein, producers; Cadillac Dreams Production)
Gullah Tales (George deGolian and Gary Moss, producers; Georgia State University)
Short SubjectThe Children's Storefront (Karen Goodman, producer; Simon and Goodman Picture Company Production)
Family Gathering (Lise Yasui and Ann Tegnell, producers; Lise Yasui Production)
Gang Cops (Thomas B. Fleming and Daniel J. Marks, producers; University of Southern California Center for Visual Anthropology and the School of Cinema/Television)
Portrait of Imogen (Nancy Hale and Meg Partridge, producers; Pacific Pictures Production)
You Don't Have to Die (William Guttentag and Malcolm Clarke, producers; Tiger Rose Production in association with Filmworks, Inc.)
FeatureThe Cry of Reason—Beyers Naude: An Afrikaner Speaks Out (Robert Bilheimer and Ronald Mix, producers; Worldwide Documentaries, Inc.)
Hotel Terminus: The Life and Times of Klaus Barbie (Marcel Ophuls, producer; The Memory Pictures Company)
Let's Get Lost (Bruce Weber and Nan Bush, producers; Little Bear Films, Inc.)
Promises to Keep (Ginny Durrin, producer; Durrin Productions, Inc.)
Who Killed Vincent Chin? (Renee Tajima and Christine Choy, producers; Film News Now Foundation and Detroit Educational Television Foundation Production)
Foreign Language FilmHanussen, Hungary
The Music Teacher, Belgium
Pelle the Conqueror, Denmark
Salaam Bombay!, India
Women on the Verge of a Nervous Breakdown, Spain
Special Achievement Awards
Animation DirectionRichard Williams, Who Framed Roger Rabbit
Honorary AwardsTo the National Film Board of Canada in recognition of its 50th anniversary and its dedicated commitment to originate artistic, creative and technological activity and excellence in every area of filmmaking
To Eastman Kodak Company in recognition of the company's fundamental contributions to the art of motion pictures during the first century of film history

Sources +