1987 Academy Awards

Updated September 9, 2022 | Infoplease Staff

The 1987 Academy Awards were presented April 11, 1988 at the Shrine Civic Auditorium, Los Angeles.

Best PictureBroadcast News, James L. Brooks, producer (Twentieth Century-Fox)
Fatal Attraction, Stanley R. Jaffe and Sherry Lansing, producers (Paramount)
Hope and Glory, John Boorman, producer (Columbia)
The Last Emperor, Jeremy Thomas, producer (Columbia)
Moonstruck, Patrick Palmer and Norman Jewison, producers (MGM)

The Last Emperor
Archive Photos
Actor in a Leading RoleMichael Douglas, Wall Street
William Hurt, Broadcast News
Marcello Mastroianni, Dark Eyes
Jack Nicholson, Ironweed
Robin Williams, Good Morning, Vietnam
Actress in a Leading RoleCher, Moonstruck
Glenn Close, Fatal Attraction
Holly Hunter, Broadcast News
Sally Kirkland, Anna
Meryl Streep, Ironweed
Actor in a Supporting RoleAlbert Brooks, Broadcast News
Sean Connery, The Untouchables
Morgan Freeman, Street Smart
Vincent Gardenia, Moonstruck
Denzel Washington, Cry Freedom
Actress in a Supporting RoleNorma Aleandro, Gaby—A True Story
Anne Archer, Fatal Attraction
Olympia Dukakis, Moonstruck
Anne Ramsey, Throw Momma From the Train
Ann Sothern, The Whales of August
DirectingBernardo Bertolucci, The Last Emperor
John Boorman, Hope and Glory
Lasse Hallström, My Life as a Dog
Norman Jewison, Moonstruck
Adrian Lyne, Fatal Attraction
Screenplay Written Directly for the ScreenWoody Allen, Radio Days
John Boorman, Hope and Glory
James L. Brooks, Broadcast News
Louis Malle, Au Revoir les Enfants
John Patrick Shanley, Moonstruck
Screenplay Based on Material From Another MediumJames Dearden, Fatal Attraction
Lasse Hallström, Reidar Jö nsson, Brasse Brännström and Per Berglund, My Life as a Dog
Tony Huston, The Dead
Stanley Kubrick, Michael Herr and Gustav Hasford, Full Metal Jacket
Mark Peploe and Bernardo Bertolucci, The Last Emperor
CinematographyMichael Ballhaus, Broadcast News
Allen Daviau, Empire of the Sun
Philippe Rousselot, Hope and Glory
Vittorio Storaro, The Last Emperor
Haskell Wexler, Matewan
Art DirectionSanto Loquasto, art direction; Carol Joffe, Les Bloom and George DeTitta, Jr., set decoration, Radio Days
Anthony Pratt, art direction; Joan Woolard, set decoration, Hope and Glory
Norman Reynolds, art direction; Harry Cordwell, set decoration, Empire of the Sun
Ferdinando Scarfiotti, art direction; Bruno Cesari and Osvaldo Desideri, set decoration, The Last Emperor
Patrizia Von Brandenstein and William A. Elliot, art direction; Hal Gausman, set decoration, The Untouchables
SoundWayne Artman, Tom Beckert, Tom Dahl and Art Rochester, The Witches of Eastwick
Les Fresholtz, Dick Alexander, Vern Poore and Bill Nelson, Lethal Weapon
Robert Knudson, Don Digirolamo, John Boyde and Tony Dawe, Empire of the Sun
Michael J. Kohut, Carlos de Larios, Aaron Rochin and Robert Wald, RoboCop
Bill Rowe and Ivan Sharrock, The Last Emperor
Song“Cry Freedom,” Cry Freedom, George Fenton and Jonas Gwangwa, music and lyrics
“(I've Had) The Time of My Life,” Dirty Dancing, Franke Previte, John DeNicola and Donald Markowitz, music; Franke Previte, lyrics
“Nothing's Gonna Stop Us Now,” Mannequin, Albert Hammond and Diane Warren, music and lyrics
“Shakedown,” Beverly Hills Cop II, Harold Faltermeyer and Keith Forsey, music; Harold Faltermeyer, Keith Forsey and Bob Seger, lyrics
“Storybook Love,” The Princess Bride, Willy DeVille, music and lyrics
Original ScoreGeorge Fenton and Jonas Gwangwa, Cry Freedom
Ennio Morricone, The Untouchables
Ryuichi Sakamoto, David Byrne and Cong Su, The Last Emperor
John Williams, Empire of the Sun
John Williams, The Witches of Eastwick
Film EditingGabriella Cristiani, The Last Emperor
Michael Kahn, Empire of the Sun
Michael Kahn and Peter E. Berger, Fatal Attraction
Richard Marks, Broadcast News
Frank J. Urioste, RoboCop
Costume DesignJames Acheson, The Last Emperor
Jenny Beavan and John Bright, Maurice
Dorothy Jeakins, The Dead
Bob Ringwood, Empire of the Sun
Marilyn Vance-Straker, The Untouchables
MakeupRick Baker, Harry and the Hendersons
Bob Laden, Happy New Year
Visual EffectsJoel Hynek, Robert M. Greenberg, Richard Greenberg and Stan Winston, Predator
Dennis Muren, William George, Harley Jessup and Kenneth Smith, Innerspace
Short Films
AnimatedGeorge and Rosemary (Eunice Macaulay, producer; National Film Board of Canada)
The Man Who Planted Trees (Frédéric Back, producer; Société Radio-Canada/Canadian Broadcasting Corporation)
Your Face (Bill Plympton, producer; Bill Plympton Productions)
Live ActionMaking Waves (Ann Wingate, producer; The Production Pool Ltd.)
Ray's Male Heterosexual Dance Hall (Jonathan Sanger and Jana Sue Memel, producers; Chanticleer Films)
Shoeshine (Robert A. Katz, producer; Tom Abrams Productions)
Short SubjectFrances Steloff: Memoirs of a Bookseller (Deborah Dickson, producer; Winterlude Films, Inc. Production)
In the Wee Wee Hours…(Dr. Frank Daniel and Izak Ben-Meir, producers; University of Southern California School of Cinema/Television)
Languge Says It All (Megan Williams, producer; Tripod Production)
Silver Into Gold (Lynn Mueller, producer; Stanford University Department of Communications)
Young at Heart (Sue Marx and Pamela Conn, producers; Sue Marx Films, Inc. Production)
FeatureEyes on the Prize: America's Civil Rights Years/Bridge to Freedom 1965 (Callie Crossley and James A. DeVinney, producers; Blackside, Inc. Production)
Hellfire: A Journey From Hiroshima (John Junkerman and John W. Dower, producers; Muraki Film Project)
Radio Bikini (Robert Stone, producer; Crossroads Film Project, Ltd.)
A Stitch for Time (Barbara Herbich and Cyril Christo, producers; Peace Quilters Production Company, Inc.)
The Ten-Year Lunch: The Wit and Legend of the Algonquin Round Table (Aviva Slesin, producer; Aviva Films)
Foreign Language FilmAu Revoir les Enfants (Goodbye, Children), France
Babette's Feast, Denmark
Course Completed, Spain
The Family, Italy
Pathfinder, Norway
Irving G. Thalberg Memorial AwardBilly Wilder
Special Achievement Award
Sound Effects EditingStephen Flick and John Pospisil, RoboCop

Sources +