1976 Academy Awards

Updated September 9, 2022 | Infoplease Staff

The 1976 Academy Awards were presented March 28, 1977 at the Dorothy Chandler Pavilion, Los Angeles.

Best PictureAll the President's Men, Walter Coblenz, producer (Warner Bros.)
Bound for Glory, Robert F. Blumofe and Harold Leventhal, producers (United Artists)
Network, Howard Gottfried, producer (MGM/United Artists)
Rocky, Irwin Winkler and Robert Chartoff, producers (United Artists)
Taxi Driver, Michael Phillips and Julia Phillips, producers (Columbia)

Archive Photos
Best ActorRobert De Niro, Taxi Driver
Peter Finch, Network
Giancarlo Giannini, Seven Beauties
William Holden, Network
Sylvester Stallone, Rocky
Best ActressMarie-Christine Barrault, Cousin, Cousine
Faye Dunaway, Network
Talia Shire, Rocky
Sissy Spacek, Carrie
Liv Ullman, Face to Face
Actor in a Supporting RoleNed Beatty, Network
Burgess Meredith, Rocky
Laurence Olivier, Marathon Man
Jason Robards, All the President's Men
Burt Young, Rocky
Actress in a Supporting RoleJane Alexander, All the President's Men
Jodie Foster, Taxi Driver
Lee Grant, Voyage of the Damned
Piper Laurie, Carrie
Beatrice Straight, Network
DirectingJohn G. Avildsen, Rocky
Ingmar Bergman, Face to Face
Sidney Lumet, Network
Alan J. Pakula, All the President's Men
Lina Wertmuller, Seven Beauties
Original ScreenplayWalter Bernstein, The Front
Paddy Chayefsky, Network
Sylvester Stallone, Rocky
Jean-Charles Tacchella, story and screenplay; Daniele Thompson, adaptation, Cousin, Cousine
Lina Wertmuller, Seven Beauties
Screenplay Based on Material From Another MediumFederico Fellini and Bernadino Zapponi, Fellini's Casanova
Robert Getchell, Bound for Glory
William Goldman, All the President's Men
Nicholas Meyer, The Seven-Per-Cent Solution
Steve Shagan and David Butler, Voyage of the Damned
CinematographyRichard H. Kline, King Kong
Ernest Laszlo, Logan's Run
Owen Roizman, Network
Robert Surtees, A Star Is Born
Haskell Wexler, Bound for Glory
Art DirectionRobert F. Boyle, art direction; Arthur Jeph Parker, set decoration, The Shootist
Gene Callahan and Jack Collis, art direction; Jerry Wunderlich, set decoration, The Last Tycoon
Dale Hennesy, art direction; Robert de Vestel, set decoration, Logan's Run
George Jenkins, art direction; George Gaines, set decoration, All the President's Men
Elliot Scott and Norman Reynolds, art direction; Peter Howitt, set decoration, The Incredible Sarah
SoundRobert Knudson, Dan Wallin, Robert Glass and Tom Overton, A Star Is Born
Donald Mitchell, Douglas Williams, Richard Tyler and Hal Etherington, Silver Streak
Arthur Piantadosi, Les Fresholtz, Dick Alexander and Jim Webb, All the President's Men
Harry Warren Tetrick, William McCaughey, Aaron Rochin and Jack Solomon, King Kong
Harry Warren Tetrick, William McCaughey, Lyle Burbridge and Bud Alper, Rocky
Original Song“Ave Satani,” The Omen, Jerry Goldsmith, music and lyrics
“Come to Me,” The Pink Panther Strikes Again, Henry Mancini, music; Don Black, lyrics
“Evergreen” (Love Theme From A Star Is Born), A Star Is Born, Barbra Streisand, music; Paul Williams, lyrics
“Gonna Fly Now,” Rocky, Bill Conti, music; Carol Connors and Ayn Robbins, lyrics
“A World That Never Was,” Half a House, Sammy Fain, music; Paul Francis Webster, lyrics
Original ScoreJerry Fielding, The Outlaw Josey Wales
Jerry Goldsmith, The Omen
Bernard Herrmann, Obsession
Bernard Herrmann, Taxi Driver
Lalo Schifrin, Voyage of the Damned
Original Song Score and Its Adaptation or Adaptation ScoreRoger Kellaway, A Star Is Born
Leonard Rosenman, Bound for Glory
Paul Williams, Bugsy Malone
Film EditingRichard Halsey and Scott Conrad, Rocky
Alan Heim, Network
Robert Jones and Pembroke J. Herring, Bound for Glory
Eve Newman and Walter Hannemann, Two-Minute Warning
Robert L. Wolfe, All the President's Men
Costume DesignAlan Barrett, The Seven-Per-Cent Solution
Danilo Donati, Fellini's Casanova
Anthony Mendleson, The Incredible Sarah
William Theiss, Bound for Glory
Mary Wills, The Passover Plot
Short Films
AnimatedDedalo (Manfredo Manfredi, producer; Cineteam Realizzazioni Production)
Leisure (Suzanne Baker, producer; Film Australia Production)
The Street (Caroline Leaf and Guy Glover, producers; National Film Board of Canada)
Live ActionIn the Region of Ice (Andre Guttfreund and Peter Werner, producers; American Film Institute)
Kudzu (Marjorie Ann Short, producer; Short Productions)
The Morning Spider (Julian Chagrin and Claude Chagrin, producers; The Black and White Colour Film Company)
Nightlife (Claire Wilbur and Robin Lehman, producers; Opus Films Ltd.)
Number One (Dyan Cannon and Vince Cannon, producers; Number One Productions)
Short SubjectAmerican Shoeshine (Sparky Greene, producer; Titan Films)
Blackwood (Tony Ianzelo and Andy Thompson, producers; National Film Board of Canada)
The End of the Road (John Armstrong, producer; Pelican Films)
Number Our Days (Lynne Littman, producer; Community Television of Southern California)
Universe (Lester Novros, producer; Graphic Films Corporation for NASA)
FeatureHarlan County, U.S.A. (Barbara Kopple, producer; Cabin Creek Films)
Hollywood on Trial (James Gutman and David Helpern, Jr., producers; October Films/Cinema Associates)
Off the Edge (Michael Firth, producer; Pentacle Films)
People of the Wind (Anthony Howarth and David Koff, producers; Elizabeth E. Rogers Productions)
Volcano: An Inquiry Into the Life and Death of Malcolm Lowry (Donald Brittain and Robert Duncan, producers; National Film Board of Canada)
Foreign Language FilmBlack and White in Color, Ivory Coast
Cousin, Cousine, France
Jacob, the Liar, German Democratic Republic—East
Nights and Days, Poland
Seven Beauties, Italy
Irving G. Thalberg Memorial AwardPandro S. Berman
Special Achievement Awards
Visual EffectsCarlo Rambaldi, Glen Robinson and Frank Van der Veer, King Kong
L.B. Abbott, Glen Robinson and Matthew Yuricich, Logan's Run

Sources +