1975 Academy Awards

Updated September 9, 2022 | Infoplease Staff

The 1975 Academy Awards were presented March 29, 1976 at the Dorothy Chandler Pavilion, Los Angeles.

Best PictureBarry Lyndon, Stanley Kubrick, producer (Warner Bros.)
Dog Day Afternoon, Martin Bregman and Martin Elfand, producers (Warner Bros.)
Jaws, Richard D. Zanuck and David Brown, producers (Universal)
Nashville, Robert Altman, producer (Paramount)
One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest, Saul Zaentz and Michael Douglas, producers (United Artists)
Best ActorWalter Matthau, The Sunshine Boys
Jack Nicholson, One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest
Al Pacino, Dog Day Afternoon
Maximilian Schell, The Man in the Glass Booth
James Whitmore, Give 'em Hell, Harry!
Best ActressIsabelle Adjani, The Story of Adele H.
Louise Fletcher, One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest
Glenda Jackson, Hedda
Carol Kane, Hester Street
Ann-Margret, Tommy
Actor in a Supporting RoleGeorge Burns, The Sunshine Boys
Brad Dourif, One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest
Burgess Meredith, The Day of the Locust
Chris Sarandon, Dog Day Afternoon
Jack Warden, Shampoo
Actress in a Supporting RoleRonee Blakley, Nashville
Lee Grant, Shampoo
Sylvia Miles, Farewell, My Lovely
Lily Tomlin, Nashville
Brenda Vaccaro, Jacqueline Susann's Once Is Not Enough
DirectingRobert Altman, Nashville
Federico Fellini, Amarcord
Milos Forman, One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest
Stanley Kubrick, Barry Lyndon
Sidney Lumet, Dog Day Afternoon
Original ScreenplayTed Allan, Lies My Father Told Me
Federico Fellini and Tonino Guerra, Amarcord
Claude Lelouch and Pierre Uytterhoeven, And Now My Love
Frank Pierson, Dog Day Afternoon
Robert Towne and Warren Beatty, Shampoo
Screenplay Adapted From Other MaterialLawrence Hauben and Bo Goldman, One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest
John Huston and Gladys Hill, The Man Who Would Be King
Stanley Kubrick, Barry Lyndon
Ruggero Maccari and Dino Risi, Scent of a Woman
Neil Simon, The Sunshine Boys
CinematographyJohn Alcott, Barry Lyndon
Conrad Hall, The Day of the Locust
James Wong Howe, Funny Lady
Robert Surtees, The Hindenburg
Haskell Wexler and Bill Butler, One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest
Art DirectionKen Adam and Roy Walker, art direction; Vernon Dixon, set decoration, Barry Lyndon
Albert Brenner, art direction; Marvin March, set decoration, The Sunshine Boys
Edward Carfagno, art direction; Frank McKelvy, set decoration, The Hindenburg
Richard Sylbert and W. Stewart Campbell, art direction; George Gaines, set decoration, Shampoo
Alexander Trauner and Tony Inglis, art direction; Peter James, set decoration, The Man Who Would Be King
SoundRobert L. Hoyt, Roger Heman, Earl Madery and John Carter, Jaws
Leonard Peterson, John A. Bolger, Jr., John Mack and Don K. Sharpless, The Hindenburg
Arthur Piantadosi, Les Fresholtz, Richard Tyler and Al Overton, Jr., Bite the Bullet
Richard Portman, Don MacDougall, Curly Thirlwell and Jack Solomon, Funny Lady
Harry W. Tetrick, Aaron Rochin, William McCaughey and Roy Charman, The Wind and the Lion
Original Song“How Lucky Can You Get,” Funny Lady, Fred Ebb and John Kander, music and lyrics
“I'm Easy,” Nashville, Keith Carradine, music and lyrics
“Now That We're in Love,” Whiffs, George Barrie, music; Sammy Cahn, lyrics
“Richard's Window,” The Other Side of the Mountain, Charles Fox, music; Norman Gimbel, lyrics
“Theme From Mahogany” (Do You Know Where You're Going To), Mahogany, Michael Masser, music; Gerry Goffin, lyrics
Original ScoreGerald Fried, Birds Do It, Bees Do It
Jerry Goldsmith, The Wind and the Lion
Jack Nitzsche, One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest
Alex North, Bite the Bullet
John Williams, Jaws
Scoring: Original Song Score and Adaptation or Scoring: AdaptationPeter Matz, Funny Lady
Leonard Rosenman, Barry Lyndon
Peter Townshend, Tommy
Film EditingDede Allen, Dog Day Afternoon
Richard Chew, Lynzee Klingman and Sheldon Kahn, One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest
Verna Fields, Jaws
Russell Lloyd, The Man Who Would Be King
Frederic Steinkamp and Don Guidice, Three Days of the Condor
Costume DesignRay Aghayan and Bob Mackie, Funny Lady
Yvonne Blake and Ron Talsky, The Four Musketeers
Edith Head, The Man Who Would Be King
Henny Noremark and Karin Erskine, The Magic Flute
Ulla-Britt Soderlund and Milena Canonero, Barry Lyndon
Short Films
AnimatedGreat (Grantstern Ltd.; British Lion Films Ltd.)
Kick Me (Robert Swarthe, producer; Robert Swarthe Productions)
Monsieur Pointu (René Jodoin, Bernard Longpré and André Leduc, producers; National Film Board of Canada)
Sisyphus (Marcell Jankovics, producer; Hungarofilms)
Live ActionAngel and Big Joe (Bert Salzman, producer; Bert Salzman Productions)
Conquest of Light (Louis Marcus, producer; Louis Marcus Films Ltd.)
Dawn Flight (Lawrence M. Lansburgh and Brian Lansburgh, producers; Lawrence M. Lansburgh Productions)
A Day in the Life of Bonnie Consolo (Barry Spinello, producer; Barr Films)
Doubletalk (Alan Beattie, producer; Beattie Productions)
Short SubjectArthur and Lillie (Jon Else, Steven Kovacs and Kristine Samuelson, producers; Stanford University Department of Communication)
The End of the Game (Claire Wilbur and Robin Lehman, producers; Opus Films Ltd.)
Millions of Years Ahead of Man (Manfred Baier, producer; BASF)
Probes in Space (George V. Casey, producer; Graphic Films)
Whistling Smith (Barrie Howells and Michael Scott, producers; National Film Board of Canada)
FeatureThe California Reich (Walter F. Parkes and Keith F. Critchlow, producers; Yasny Talking Pictures)
Fighting for Our Lives (Glen Pearcy, producer; Farm Worker Film)
The Incredible Machine (National Geographic Society and Wolper Productions)
The Man Who Skied Down Everest (F. R. Crawley, James Hager and Dale Hartleben, producers; Crawley Films Presentation)
The Other Half of the Sky: A China Memoir (Shirley MacLaine, producer; MacLaine Productions)
Foreign Language FilmDersu Uzala, U.S.S.R.
Land of Promise, Poland
Letters From Marusia, Mexico
Sandakan No. 8, Japan
Scent of a Woman, Italy
Irving G. Thalberg Memorial AwardMervyn LeRoy
Jean Hersholt Humanitarian AwardDr. Jules C. Stein
Honorary AwardTo Mary Pickford in recognition of her unique contributions to the film industry and the development of film as an artistic medium
Special Achievement Awards
Sound EffectsPeter Berkos, The Hindenburg
Visual EffectsAlbert Whitlock and Glen Robinson, The Hindenburg

Sources +