U.S. Open Cup

Updated February 11, 2017 | Infoplease Staff

Dating back to 1914, the U.S. Open Cup is the oldest soccer competition in the United States and is among the oldest in the world. The U.S. Open Cup is a single-elimination tournament open to all amateur and professional teams in the United States. Thirty-two teams competed for the 85-year-old Dewar Cup trophy in the 1998 U.S. Open Cup.


July 22, 1998 at the Cotton Bowl, Dallas and Finley Stadium, Chattanooga

Columbus Crew (MLS) def. Miami Fusion (MLS), 3-0

Tampa Bay Mutiny (MLS) def. NY/NJ Metrostars (MLS), 4-0

Chicago Fire (MLS) def. San Jose Clash (MLS), 1-1 (4-3 PK)

Dallas Burn (MLS) def. Nashville Metros (A-League), 5-1


Aug. 4, 1998 at Zephyr Field, New Orleans

Columbus Crew def. NY/NJ Metrostars, 1-0

Chicago Fire def. Dallas Burn, 3-2


Oct. 30, 1998 at Soldier Field, Chicago

Chicago Fire vs. Columbus Crew

Sources +
See also: