86th Indianapolis 500

Updated August 28, 2020 | Infoplease Staff

Date—Sunday, May 26, 2002, at Indianapolis Motor Speedway. Distance—500 miles; Course—2.5 mile oval; Field—33 cars; Winner's average speed—166.499 mph; Margin of victory—under caution; Time of race—3 hours, 10.8714 seconds; Caution flags—5 for 35 laps; Lead changes—19 by 9 drivers; Lap leaders—Scheckter (85), Junqueira (32), Castroneves (24), Kanaan (23), de Ferran (13), Giaffone (12), Barron (7), Sharp (3), Unser Jr. (1); Pole Sitter—Bruno Junqueira at 231.342; Attendance—400,000 (est.); TV Rating—4.8/15 share (ABC). Note that (r) indicates rookie driver.

Driver (start pos.) CountryCar Laps Ended Earnings
1Helio Castroneves (13)BrazilD/C/F200Running$1,606,215
2Paul Tracy (29)CanadaD/C/F200Running489,315
3Felipe Giaffone (4)BrazilG/C/F200Running475,315
4r-Alex Barron (26)United StatesD/C/F200Running412,115
5Eddie Cheever Jr. (6)United StatesD/I/F200Running348,515
6Richie Hearn (22)United StatesD/C/F200Running330,815
7Michael Andretti (25)United StatesD/C/F200Running218,715
8Robby Gordon (11)United StatesD/C/F200Running204,000
9Jeff Ward (15)United StatesG/C/F200Running308,815
10Gil de Ferran (14)BrazilD/C/F200Running293,165
11Kenny Brack (21)SwedenG/C/F200Running188,315
12Al Unser Jr. (12)United StatesD/C/F199Running288,765
13Airton Dare (30)BrazilD/C/F199Running281,815
14Arie Luyendyk (24)NetherlandsG/C/F199Running313,815
15Buddy Lazier (20)United StatesD/C/F198Accident277,615
16Robbie Buhl (2)United StatesG/I/F198Running288,315
17r-George Mack (32)United StatesG/C/F198Running283,565
18Billy Boat (23)United StatesD/C/F198Running283,315
19r-Dario Franchitti (28)ScotlandD/C/F197Running153,565
20r-Shigeaki Hattori (27)JapanD/I/F197Running161,565
21Raul Boesel (3)BrazilD/C/F197Running268,315
22r-Laurent Redon (16)FranceD/I/F196Accident256,565
23r-Max Papis (18)ItalyD/I/F196Running153,565
24Sarah Fisher (9)United StatesG/I/F196Running163,315
25Sam Hornish Jr. (7)United StatesD/C/F186Running253,815
26r-Tomas Scheckter (10)South AfricaD/I/F172Accident294,815
27Scott Sharp (8)United StatesD/C/F137Engine255,655
28r-Tony Kanaan (5)BrazilG/C/F89Accident167,665
29r-Rick Treadway (17)United StatesG/C/F88Accident147,565
30Jimmy Vasser (19)United StatesD/C/F87Gearbox151,315
31Bruno Junqueira (1)BrazilG/C/F87Gearbox282,715
32Mark Dismore (33)United StatesD/C/F58Handling145,315
33Greg Ray (31)United StatesD/C/F28Accident245,315
Car Legend: Chassis/Engine/Tires. D—Dallara; G—G Force (chassis); C—Chevrolet Indy V-8; I—Nissan Infiniti V-8 (engine); F—Firestone (tires).

IRL Race LocationsIndy Racing League Results “The Double”
Indy Racing League Results for Auto Racing's 2002 Season
Sources +