Slam Dunk Contest, 2001-2002

Updated September 27, 2017 | Infoplease Staff

Four players competed at the 2002 NBA Slam Dunk contest. In the past six players were invited to compete in the slam dunk contest that was held annually from 1984-97 before being replaced by the 2Ball competition. The slam dunk contest made its return in 2000. The four competitors are selected based on “the creativity and artistry they have displayed in dunking” over the course of the season. The first round consists of two slam dunk matches. Everyone attempts three dunks, one of which must involve a teammate and another of which involved having to spin a “wheel of fortune” that has them imitate great dunkers of the past. The lowest score is thrown out and the combined total of the remaining two dunks decides the winner. The dunks are judged by five judges on a scale from six to ten. The two first round winners advance to the final round and attempt two dunks. The combined score of the two dunks determines the winner.

The 2002 Slam Dunk contests competitors were Steve Francis of the Houston Rockets, defending champion Desmond Mason of the Seattle SuperSonics, Jason Richardson of the Golden State Warriors, and Gerald Wallace of the Sacramento Kings. First prize: $25,000.

First Round  
Jason Richardson def. Desmond Mason 98-84
Gerald Wallace def. Steve Francis 84-77
Jason Richardson def. Gerald Wallace 85-80


NBA 3-point Shootout 2001-2002 Season NBA Regular Season Individual Leaders


Men's and Women's Professional Basketball: 2001-2002 Season
Sources +