The Heisman Trophy Vote's for College Football's 2001–2002 Season

Player of the Year

Eric Crouch, Nebraska Heisman, Camp
Rex Grossman, Florida AP
Ken Dorsey, Miami-FL Maxwell

Position Players of the Year

O'Brien Award (Quarterback) Eric Crouch, Nebraska
Walker Award (Running Back) Lucas Staley, BYU
Biletnikoff Award (Receiver) Josh Reed, LSU
Outland Trophy (Interior Lineman) Bryant McKinnie, Miami-FL
Lombardi Award (Lineman) Julius Peppers, N. Carolina
Butkus Award (Linebacker) Rocky Calmus, Oklahoma
Thorpe Award (Defensive Back) Roy Williams, Oklahoma
Nagurski Award (Defensive Player) Roy Williams, Oklahoma
Groza Award (Kicker) Seth Marler, Tulane
Payton Award (IAA Player of the Year) Brian Westbrook, Villanova, RB
Hill Trophy (Div. II Player of the Year) Dusty Bonner, Valdosta St., QB
Melberger Award (Div. III Player of the Year) Chuck Moore, Mt. Union, RB

Coach of the Year

Ralph Friedgen, Maryland AFCA, AP, Camp, Dodd, FWAA
Larry Coker, Miami-FL AFCA

Presented since 1935 by the Downtown Athletic Club of New York City and named after former college coach and DAC athletic director John W. Heisman. Voting done by national media and former Heisman winners. Each ballot allows for three names (points based on 3 for 1st, 2 for 2nd and 1 for 3rd).

Top 10 Vote-Getters

  Pos 1st 2nd 3rd Pts
Eric Crouch, Nebraska QB 162 98 88 770
Rex Grossman, Florida QB 137 105 87 708
Ken Dorsey, Miami-FL QB 109 122 67 638
Joey Harrington, Oregon QB 54 68 66 364
David Carr, Frenso St. QB 34 60 58 280
Antwaan Randle El, Indiana QB 46 39 51 267
Roy Williams, Oklahoma S 13 36 35 146
Bryant McKinnie, Miami-FL OT 26 12 14 116
Dwight Freeney, Syracuse DE 2 6 24 42
Julius Peppers, N. Carolina DE 2 10 15 41


Single Game Highs 2001–2002 Season Consensus All-America Team