2000 Fed Cup

Updated February 11, 2017 | Infoplease Staff




Originally the Federation Cup and started in 1963 by the International Tennis Federation as the Davis Cup of women's tennis. Played by 32 teams over one week at one site through 1994. Tournament was Davis Cup-style format from 1995-99. In 2000, a new round-robin format was introduced with 12 nations competing in three groups over two weeks. The 1999 winner, the United States, receives a bye from the quarterfinal round and has the right to host the semifinals and final. (*) indicates team advanced to semifinals.

Sources +
See also: