Slam Dunk Contest, 1999-2000

Updated August 28, 2020 | Infoplease Staff

Six players are invited to compete in the slam dunk contest that was held annually from 1984-97 before being replaced by the 2Ball competition. The slam dunk contest made its return in 2000. The players are selected based on “the creativity and artistry they have displayed in dunking” over the course of the season. In the first round, everyone attempts three dunks, one of which must involve a teammate. The dunks are judged by five judges on a scale from six to ten. The top three advance to the final round and attempt two dunks. The combined score of the two dunks determines the winner. First prize: $25,000.

First Round Pts
Vince Carter, Tor 100
Tracy McGrady, Tor 99
Steve Francis, Hou 95
Ricky Davis, Cha 88
Jerry Stackhouse, Det 83
Larry Hughes, Phi 67
Finals Pts
Vince Carter 98
Steve Francis 91
Tracy McGrady 77


NBA/WNBA All-Star 2Ball 1999-2000 Season NBA Regular Season Individual Leaders


1999-2000 Professional and College Basketball Season
Sources +