Winona Ryder Biography

Winona Ryder

(Winona Laura Horowitz)
Born: 10/29/1971
Birthplace: Winona, Minnesota

Having grown up on a commune with hippie parents and godfather Timothy Leary, Ryder had ample opportunity to observe the quirky teens she would portray on screen in Lucas (1986), Beetlejuice (1988), Mermaids (1990), and Edward Scissorhands (1990). Ryder turned in Oscar-nominated performances in The Age of Innocence (1993) and Little Women (1994). Her other film credits include Bram Stroker's Dracula (1992), Reality Bites (1994), How to Make an American Quilt (1995), The Crucible (1996), Alien: Resurrection (1997), and Autumn in New York (2000). She was found guilty of shoplifting in 2002.

Meg RyanR
Entertainment Bios — R
See also: