Olivia De Havilland Biography

Olivia De Havilland

Born: 7/1/1916
Birthplace: Tokyo, Japan

The sister of actress Joan Fontaine, she is probably best remembered as the long-suffering Melanie in Gone With the Wind (1939). She starred opposite Errol Flynn in Captain Blood (1935) and The Adventures of Robin Hood (1938), and she won Academy Awards for Best Actress for her roles in To Each His Own (1946) and The Heiress (1949). Her other films include Hold Back the Dawn (1941), The Snake Pit (1948), Hush . . . Hush, Sweet Charlotte (1964), and Airport 77 (1977).

Ellen DeGeneresDOscar De La Renta
Entertainment Bios — D