NCAA & NIT Tournament Teams

(In alphabetical order)

Before TournsHead CoachFinal Record
Colorado15–2Frosty Cox17–4
DePaul21–4Tom Haggerty22–6
Duquesne17–1Chick Davies20–3
Indiana17–3Branch McCracken20–3
Kansas17–5Phog Allen19–6
LIU19–3Clair Bee19–4
Okla. A&M25–2Hank Iba26–3
Rice21–2Buster Brannon22–3
St. John's15–3Joe Lapchick15–4
USC19–2Sam Barry20–3
Springfield16–2Ed Hickox16–3
Western Ky.24–5Ed Diddle24–6
Note: Colorado won the NIT and Indiana won the NCAAs. Colorado and Duquesne played in both tourneys.

Major Conference Champions1940 College Basketball RecapNCAA Tournament
Major Conference Champions 1940 College Basketball Recap NCAA Tournament