1941 College Basketball Recap

Updated August 5, 2020 | Infoplease Staff

Major Conference Champions

NCAA & NIT Tournament Teams

NCAA Tournament

NIT Tournament

Player of the Year

Consensus All-America

Seton Hall entered the NIT on a 42–game winning streak, two behind the national record of 44 set by Texas from 1913–17 and one less than Long Island's 43–game skein of 1935–37. After beating Rhode Island in the quarterfinals, the Pirates ran up against LIU in the semifinals. It wasn't close. LIU won by 23, ending the Hall's streak on the same floor Stanford had humbled the Blackbirds four years before.

LIU went on to post its second tournament championship in four years, beating Ohio U. in the final, 56–42.

Wisconsin came out of nowhere to win the NCAA championship in basketball's 50th anniversary season.

In 1940, the Badgers finished one rung from the bottom of the Big Ten standings with a 3–9 record. A year later they were conference champs and entered the postseason on a 12–game winning streak. Led by All-America center Gene Englund and sophomore guard Johnny Kotz, Wisconsin hosted and won the East Regional then beat Washington State, 39–34, in Kansas City for the title.

Jackie Robinson of UCLA, who would break major league baseball's color line in 1947, led the PCC in scoring (11.1) for the second straight season.

Sources +