League Championship Series

Updated September 27, 2017 | Infoplease Staff

League Championship Series

National League

American League

League Championship Series Division play came to the major leagues in 1969 when both the American and National Leagues expanded to 12 teams.With an East and West Division in each league, League Championship Series (LCS) became necessary to determine the NL and AL pennant winners. In 1994, teams were realigned into three divisions, the East, Central, and West with division winners and one wildcard team playing a best-of-5 League Divisional Series (see following pages for LDS results) to determine the LCS competitors.

In the tables below, the East Division champions are noted by the letter E, the Central division champions by C and the West Division champions by W. Wildcard winners are noted by WC. Also, each playoff winner’s wins and losses are noted in parentheses after the series score. The LCS changed from best-of-5 to best-of-7 in 1985. Each league’s LCS was cancelled in 1994 due to the players’ strike.

All-Time World Series LeadersThrough The YearsLeague Divisional Series
Sources +