Cy Young Award

Updated September 27, 2017 | Infoplease Staff

Cy Young Award

NL and AL Combined

Separate League Awards

Voted on by the Baseball Writers Association of America. One award was presented from 1956-66, two since 1967. Pitchers who won the MVP and Cy Young awards in the same season are in bold type.

Multiple winners: NL—Steve Carlton, Greg Maddux and Randy Johnson (4); Sandy Koufax and Tom Seaver (3); Bob Gibson and Tom Glavine (2). AL—Roger Clemens (6); Jim Palmer (3); Pedro Martinez and Denny McLain (2). NL & AL—Randy Johnson (5, four in NL, one in AL), Pedro Martinez (3, two in AL, one in NL) and Gaylord Perry (2, one in each). NL and AL Combined

Most Valuable PlayerAnnual AwardsRookie of the Year
Sources +
See also: