Major diagnostic classes of mental disorders

Updated February 11, 2017 | Infoplease Staff

The standard manual used for diagnosis of mental disorders in the United States, the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-IV), organizes mental disorders into 16 major diagnostic classes:

  • Delirium, dementia, and amnestic and other cognitive disorders
  • Mental disorders due to a general medical condition
  • Substance-related disorders
  • Schizophrenia and other psychotic disorders
  • Mood disorders
  • Anxiety disorders
  • Somatoform disorders
  • Factitious disorders
  • Dissociative disorders
  • Sexual and gender identity disorders
  • Eating disorders
  • Sleep disorders
  • Impulse-control disorders
  • Adjustment disorders
  • Personality disorders
  • Disorders of childhood and adolescence

Sources +