U.S. Protestant Groups

Updated February 11, 2017 | Infoplease Staff

According to the Hartford Institute for Religion Research, U.S. Protestant groups are commonly divided into four broad categories:

Liberal Protestant: Episcopal, Presbyterian, Unitarian Universalist, United Church of Christ

Moderate Protestant: American Baptist, Disciples of Christ, Evangelical Lutheran, Mennonite, Reformed Church in America, United Methodist

Evangelical Protestant: Assemblies of God, Christian Reformed, Nazarene, Churches of Christ, Independent Christian Churches (Instrumental), Seventh-day Adventist, Southern Baptist

Historically Black Protestant: Various denominations

Sources +
See also: