Dominica History

Updated September 9, 2022 | Infoplease Staff
A New President Is Chosen Despite Boycott


In September 2012, Parliament chose Eliud Williams, a former government administrator, to replace Nicholas Liverpool as president. Liverpool resigned due to health reasons. The United Workers Party, the main opposition party, boycotted the election. The party planned to take the issue to court, claiming that the election process was unconstitutional. Despite the boycott, Williams was expected to remain in office until October 2013, the date of the next general election.

On September 30, 2013, Charles Savarin was elected president in a 19-0 vote by Parliament. Once again the opposition boycotted the election. A member of the Dominica Labour Party, Savarin had previously served as Minister for National Security, Immigration, Labour and the Public Service.

See also Encyclopedia: Dominica .
U.S. State Dept. Country Notes: Dominica