Smashing Pumpkins Biography

Smashing Pumpkins

rock band

Grammy Award-winning progressive rock band whose lush arrangements and high production values set the band apart from other bands of the genre. Founded by lead singer Billy Corgan, the band's recordings include Siamese Dream (1993), Pisces Iscariot (1994), Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness (1995), and MACHINA/the Machines of God. Corgan announced in May 2000 that the band would break up by the end of the year. The disbanding came as only somewhat of a surprise, given the band's recent upheaval. Bassist D'Arcy left the band in late 1999, and band manager Sharon Osbourne resigned in January. D'Arcy was replaced by Hole's Melissa Auf Der Maur. The last concert was in Dec. 2000. Corgan originally blamed the split on “fighting the good fight against the Britneys of the world” but three years later he put the blame squarely on James Iha.

Band members include

Billy Corgan

singer, guitarist
Born: 3/17/1967
Birthplace: Chicago

James Iha

Born: 3/26/1968
Birthplace: Elk Grove, Illinois

D'Arcy Wretzky

Born: 5/1/1968
Birthplace: South Haven, Michigan

Melissa Auf Der Maur

Born: 3/17/1972

SlipknotSAnna Nicole Smith
Entertainment Bios — S
See also: