Women's World Player of the Year

Updated September 9, 2022 | Infoplease Staff

Women's World Player of the Year

Presented by FIFA since 2001. Winners are selected by national team coaches from around the world.

Multiple winners: Mia Hamm (2).

Year Nat'l Team
2001Mia Hamm, Washington FreedomUSA
2002 Mia Hamm, Washington FreedomUSA
2003 Birgit Prinz, FFC FrankfurtGermany

World Player of the YearAnnual AwardsEuropean Player of the Year
Annual Awards: Soccer Players, Sports
Sources +