2009 Drama Desk Awards

Updated February 11, 2017 | Infoplease Staff

The Drama Desk, a group of 150 theater critics and reporters, announced the awards on May 17, 2009.

Outstanding Play:Ruined by Lynn Nottage
Outstanding Musical: Billy Elliot The Musical
Outstanding Revival of a Play: The Norman Conquests
Outstanding Revival of a Musical:Hair
Outstanding Music in a Play:Dominic Kanza (Ruined)
Outstanding Actor in a Play:Geoffrey Rush (Exit the King)
Outstanding Actress in a Play:Janet McTeer (Mary Stuart)
Outstanding Actor in a Musical:Brian d'Arcy James (Shrek The Musical)
Outstanding Actress in a Musical:Allison Janney (9 to 5)
Outstanding Featured Actor in a Play:Pablo Schreiber (reasons to be pretty)
Outstanding Featured Actress in a Play:Angela Lansbury (Blithe Spirit)
Outstanding Featured Actor in a Musical:Gregory Jbara (Billy Elliot The Musical)
Outstanding Featured Actress in a Musical:Haydn Gwynne (Billy Elliot The Musical)
Outstanding Director of a Play:Matthew Warchus (The Norman Conquests)
Outstanding Director of a Musical:Stephen Daldry (Billy Elliot The Musical)
Outstanding Choreography:Peter Darling (Billy Elliot The Musical)
Outstanding Music:Elton John (Billy Elliot The Musical)
Outstanding Lyrics:Stephen Sondheim (Road Show)
Outstanding Book of a Musical:Lee Hall (Billy Elliot The Musical)
Outstanding Orchestrations:Martin Koch (Billy Elliot The Musical)
Outstanding Set Design of a Play:David Korins (Why Torture Is Wrong and the People Who Love Them)
Outstanding Set Design of a Musical:Tim Hatley (Shrek The Musical)
Outstanding Costume Design:Tim Hatley (Shrek The Musical)
Outstanding Lighting Design in a Play:David Hersey (Equus)
Outstanding Sound Design:Paul Arditti (Billy Elliot The Musical)
Outstanding Solo Performance:Lorenzo Pisoni (Humor Abuse)
Outstanding Lighting Design in a Musical:Rick Fisher (Billy Elliot The Musical)
Unique Theatrical Experience:Celebrity Autobiography: In Their Own Words
Sources +