2007 Drama Desk Awards

Updated September 9, 2022 | Infoplease Staff

The Drama Desk, a group of 150 theater critics and reporters, announced the awards on May 20, 2007.

Outstanding Play Tom Stoppard, The Coast of Utopia
Outstanding Musical Spring Awakening
Outstanding Musical Revival Company
Outstanding Play Revival Journey's End
Outstanding Actor in a Play Frank Langella, Frost/Nixon
Outstanding Actress in a Play Eve Best, A Moon for the Misbegotten
Outstanding Featured Actor in a Play Boyd Gaines, Journey's End
Outstanding Featured Actress in a Play Martha Plimpton, The Coast of Utopia
Outstanding Actor in a Musical Raul Esparza, Company
Outstanding Actress in a Musical Audra McDonald, 110 in the Shade and Donna Murphy, LoveMusik
Outstanding Featured Actor in a Musical Gavin Lee, Mary Poppins
Outstanding Featured Actress in a Musical Debra Monk, Curtains
Outstanding Director of a Play Jack O'Brien, The Coast of Utopia
Outstanding Director of a Musical Michael Mayer, Spring Awakening
Outstanding Choreography Andy Blankenbuehler, In the Heights
Outstanding Book of a Musical Rupert Holmes and Peter Stone, Curtains
Outstanding Music Duncan Sheik, Spring Awakening
Outstanding Lyrics Steven Sater, Spring Awakening
Outstanding Orchestrations Mary-Mitchell Campbell, Company and Jonathan Tunick, LoveMusik
Outstanding Set Design of a Play Bob Crowley and Scott Pask, The Coast of Utopia
Outstanding Set Design of a Musical Bob Crowley, Mary Poppins
Outstanding Costume Design Catherine Zuber, The Coast of Utopia
Outstanding Lighting Design Kenneth Posner, Brian MacDevitt, Natasha Katz, The Coast of Utopia
Outstanding Sound Design Gregory Clarke, Journey's End
Outstanding Solo Performance Vanessa Redgrave, The Year of Magical Thinking
Unique Theatrical Experience Edward Scissorhands
Outstanding Ensemble Performances Cast of In the Heights and cast of Lebenstraum
Lifetime Achievement John Kander and Fred Ebb for 42 years of excellence in advancing the art of the musical theater.
Special Awards Austin Pendleton—actor, director, playwright, teacher—a Renaissance man of the American theater.
Transport Group for its breadth of vision and its presentation of challenging productions.
National Yiddish Theatre Folksbiene for preserving for 92 consecutive seasons the cultural legacy of Yiddish speaking theater in America.

Information Please® Database, © 2007 Pearson Education, Inc. All rights reserved.
Sources +