1996 Lucille Lortel Awards

Updated September 9, 2022 | Infoplease Staff

The Lucille Lortel Awards, which include commercial and nonprofit productions, are the official awards of the League of Off-Broadway Theaters and Producers. Lortel rules exclude from consideration works that move to or are scheduled to move to Broadway. The 1996 Lortel Awards were presented on May 6, 1996, at the Lucille Lortel Theatre in New York's Greenwich Village.

Outstanding PlayMolly Sweeney
Outstanding MusicalFloyd Collins
Outstanding RevivalEntertaining Mr. Sloan
Outstanding DirectorScott Elliott, The Monogamist
Outstanding Actor in a PlayJim Dale, Travels With My Aunt
Outstanding Actress in a PlayUta Hagen, Mrs. Klein
Outstanding Actor in a MusicalJason Workman, Bed and Sofa
Outstanding Actress in a MusicalMelissa Errico, One Touch of Venus
Outstanding Set DesignerTony Walton, A Fair Country
Outstanding Lighting DesignerMichael Chybowski, The Grey Zone
Outstanding Costume DesignerJane Greenwood, Sylvia
Outstanding Body of WorkAthol Fugard
Special AwardsCora Cahan
Theatreworks U.S.A.
Outstanding Dedication to Off-BroadwayEdith Oliver

Sources +