2003 Drama Desk Awards

Updated September 9, 2022 | Infoplease Staff

The Drama Desk, a group of 150 theater critics and reporters, announced the awards on May 18, 2003.

Outstanding PlayTake Me Out
Outstanding MusicalHairspray
Outstanding Musical RevivalNine
Outstanding Play RevivalLong Day's Journey Into Night
Best Actor in a PlayEddie Izzard, A Day in the Death of Joe Egg
Best Actress in a PlayVanessa Redgrave, Long Day's Journey Into Night
Best Featured Actor in a PlayDenis O'Hare, Take Me Out
Best Featured Actress in a PlayLynn Redgrave, Talking Heads
Best Actor in a Musical (tie)Antonio Banderas, Nine and Harvey Fierstein, Hairspray
Best Actress in a MusicalMarissa Jaret Winokur, Hairspray
Best Featured Actor in a MusicalDick Latessa, Hairspray
Best Featured Actress in a MusicalJane Krakowski, Nine
Best Director of a PlayRobert Falls, Long Day's Journey Into Night
Best Director of a MusicalJack O'Brien, Hairspray
Best ChoreographyTwyla Tharp, Movin' Out
Best Book of a MusicalMark O'Donnell and Thomas Meehan, Hairspray
Best MusicMarc Shaiman, Hairspray
Best LyricsScott Wittman and Marc Shaiman, Hairspray
Outstanding OrchestrationsHarold Wheeler, Hairspray
Outstanding Set Design of a PlayJohn Lee Beatty, Dinner at Eight
Outstanding Set Design of a MusicalCatherine Martin, La Boheme
Outstanding Costume DesignWilliam Ivey Long, Hairspray
Outstanding Lighting DesignNigel Levings, La Boheme
Outstanding Sound DesignAcme Sound Partners, La Boheme
Outstanding Solo PerformanceTovah Feldshuh, Golda's Balcony
Unique Theatrical ExperienceThe Exonerated
Special AwardsBrooklyn Academy of Music for bringing works of distinction from around the world to New York audiences
Charles Busch for career achievement as performer and playwright
Geoffrey Johnson and Vincent Liff (posthumous) of Johnson-Liff Casting for career achievement

Sources +