2006 Caldecott Medal and Honor Books

Updated September 9, 2022 | Infoplease Staff
The Caldecott Medal is awarded annually by the American Library Association for the most distinguished American picture book for children.
Caldecott Medal for Best Picture Book: The Hello, Goodbye Window, illustrated by Chris Raschka and written by Norton Juster (Michael di Capua Books/Hyperion Books for Children)
Caldecott Honor Books: Rosa, illustrated by Bryan Collier and written by Nikki Giovanni (Henry Holt and Company)
Zen Shorts, written and illustrated by Jon J. Muth (Scholastic Press)
Hot Air: The (Mostly) True Story of the First Hot-Air Balloon Ride, written and illustrated by Marjorie Priceman (Atheneum Books for Young Readers)
Song of the Water Boatman and Other Pond Poems, illustrated by Beckie Prange and written by Joyce Sidman (Houghton Mifflin Company)

Sources +