2003 Newbery Medal and Honor Books

Updated September 9, 2022 | Infoplease Staff
The Newbery Medal is awarded annually by the American Library Association for the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.
Newbery Medal for Best Book: Crispin: The Cross of Lead, Avi (Hyperion)
Newbery Honor Books: The House of Scorpion, Nancy Farmer (Atheneum);
Pictures of Hollis Woods, Patricia Reilly Giff (Random House/Wendy Lamb Books);
Hoot, Carl Hiassen (Knopf);
A Corner of The Universe, Anne M. Martin (Scholastic);
Surviving the Applewhites, Stephanie S. Tolan (HarperCollins)

Sources +