2002 National Book Awards

Updated September 9, 2022 | Infoplease Staff

The 53rd Annual National Book Awards were presented November 20, 2002, at New York City's Marriott Marquis Hotel.

Fiction:Three Junes, Julia Glass (Pantheon Books)
Nonfiction:Master of the Senate: The Years of Lyndon Johnson, Robert A. Caro (Alfred A. Knopf)
Poetry:In the Next Galaxy, Ruth Stone (Copper Canyon Press)
Young People's Literature:The House of the Scorpion, Nancy Farmer (A Richard Jackson Book/ Atheneum Books for Young Readers)
Medal for Distinguished Contribution to American Literature:Philip Roth

Sources +