1999 Independent Spirit Awards

Updated September 9, 2022 | Infoplease Staff

The 15th Independent Spirit Awards, honoring excellence in independent film, took place on March 25, 2000 under a tent on Santa Monica beach.

First Feature (More Than $500,000)Spike Jonze, Being John Malkovich
First Feature (Less Than $500,000)Daniel Myrick and Eduardo Sanchez , The Blair Witch Project
Male LeadRichard Farnsworth, The Straight Story
Female LeadHilary Swank, Boys Don't Cry
Supporting MaleSteve Zahn, Happy, Texas
Supporting FemaleChloë Sevigny, Boys Don't Cry
Debut PerformanceKimberly J. Brown, Tumbleweeds
DirectorAlexander Payne, Election
ScreenplayAlexander Payne and Jim Taylor, Election
First ScreenplayCharlie Kaufman, Being John Malkovich
CinematographyLisa Rinzler, Three Seasons
Foreign FilmTom Tykwer, Run Lola Run (Germany)

Sources +