1984 Cannes Film Festival

Updated September 9, 2022 | Infoplease Staff
Palme d'OrParis, Texas, Wim Wenders (Germany)
Special Jury PrizeNaplo, Marta Meszaros (Hungary)
Best ActorAlfredo Landa and Francisco Rabal, The Holy Innocents (Spain)
Best ActressHelen Mirren, Cal (Ireland)
DirectionBertrand Tavernier, A Sunday in the Country (France)
ScreenplayTheo Angelopoulos, Theo Valtinos and Tonino Guerra, Vogage to Cythera (Greece)
Artistic ContributionPeter Biziou for the cinematography of Another Country (United Kingdom)
Camera d'Or for Film DebutStranger Than Paradise, Jim Jarmusch (United States)
TechniqueThe Element of Crime, Lars von Trier (Denmark)
Fipresci PrizeParis, Texas, Wim Wenders (Germany/France)
Voyage to Cythera, Theo Angelopoulos (Greece)

Sources +