Consecutive World Series Sweeps

Updated March 1, 2017 | Infoplease Staff

The Question:

What was the first team to win the World Series 4-games-to-0 in consecutive years?

The Answer:

The New York Yankees were the first team to sweep back-to-back World Series when it beat the Pirates in 1927 and then the Cardinals in 1928. The Yankees did it again in 1938 & 1939 and in 1998 and 1999. No team has competed in or won more World Series than the Yankees.

See our complete list of World Series results.

-The Editors

Sources +