| Share

American League

Multiple champions: NY Yankees (7); Boston, Cleveland and Seattle (3); Baltimore (2).

Year Winner Manager Series Loser Manager
1995C–ClevelandMike Hargrove3-0 E–Boston Kevin Kennedy
 W–SeattleLou Piniella3-2 (LLWWW)WC–New YorkBuck Showalter
1996E–New YorkJoe Torre3-1 (LWWW)W–TexasJohnny Oates
 WC–BaltimoreDavey Johnson3-1 (WWLW)C–ClevelandMike Hargrove
1997E–BaltimoreDavey Johnson3-1 (WWLW)W–SeattleLou Piniella
 C–ClevelandMike Hargrove3-2 (LWLWW)WC–New YorkJoe Torre
1998E–New YorkJoe Torre3-0W–TexasJohnny Oates
 C–ClevelandMike Hargrove3-1 (LWWW)WC–BostonJimy Williams
1999E–New YorkJoe Torre3-0W–TexasJohnny Oates
 WC–BostonJimy Williams3-2 (LLWWW)C–ClevelandMike Hargrove
2000E–New YorkJoe Torre3-2 (LWWLW)W–OaklandArt Howe
 WC–SeattleLou Piniella3-0C–ChicagoJerry Manuel
2001E–New YorkJoe Torre3-2 (LLWWW)WC–OaklandArt Howe
 W–SeattleLou Piniella3-2 (LWLWW)C–ClevelandCharlie Manuel
2002WC–AnaheimMike Scioscia3-1 (LWWW)E–New YorkJoe Torre
 C–MinnesotaRon Gardenhire3-2 (WLLWW)W–OaklandArt Howe
2003 E–New York Joe Torre 3-1 (LWWW) C–MinnesotaRon Gardenhire
 WC–Boston Grady Little3-2 (LLWWW) W–Oakland Ken Macha
2004 E–New York Joe Torre 3-1 (LWWW) C–MinnesotaRon Gardenhire
 WC–Boston Terry Francona3-0 W–AnaheimMike Scioscia

Information Please® Database, © 2007 Pearson Education, Inc. All rights reserved.

National LeagueLeague Divisional Series

More on American League from Infoplease:

Premium Partner Content
HighBeam Research
Documents Images and Maps Reference
(from Newspapers, Magazines, Journals, Newswires, Transcripts and Books)

Research our extensive archive of more than 80 million articles from 6,500 publications.

Additional search results provided by HighBeam Research, LLC. © Copyright 2005. All rights reserved.

24 X 7

Private Tutor

Click Here for Details
24 x 7 Tutor Availability
Unlimited Online Tutoring
1-on-1 Tutoring