| Share

Dick Howser Trophy

Presented to the College Player of the Year since 1987, by the American Baseball Coaches Association (ABCA) from 1987-98 and the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association (NCBWA) beginning in 1999. Sponsored by Verizon and the St. Petersburg Area Chamber of Commerce. Named after the late two-time All-America shortstop and college coach at Florida State. Howser was also a major league manager with Kansas City and the New York Yankees.

Multiple winner: Brooks Kieschnick (2).

1987Mike Fiore, Miami-FL, OF
1988Robin Ventura, Okla. St., 3B
1989Scott Bryant, Texas, DH
1990Paul Ellis, UCLA, C
1991Bobby Jones, Fresno St., P
1992Brooks Kieschnick, Texas, DH/P
1993Brooks Kieschnick, Texas, DH/P
1994Jason Varitek, Ga. Tech, C
1995Todd Helton, Tenn., 1B/P
1996Kris Benson, Clemson, P
1997J.D. Drew, Florida St., OF
1998Eddie Furniss, LSU, 1B
1999Jason Jennings, Baylor, DH/P
2000Mark Teixeira, Ga. Tech, 3B
2001Mark Prior, USC, P
2002Khalil Greene, Clemson, SS
2003 Rickie Weeks, Southern, 2B
2004 Jered Weaver, Long Beach St., P

Information Please® Database, © 2007 Pearson Education, Inc. All rights reserved.

Baseball America Player of the YearAnnual AwardsBaseball America Coach of the Year

24 X 7

Private Tutor

Click Here for Details
24 x 7 Tutor Availability
Unlimited Online Tutoring
1-on-1 Tutoring