| Share


1890–92 George Dixon1
1894–99 Jimmy Barry2
1900 Terry McGovern1
1901 Harry Harris1
1902–03 Harry Forbes
1903–04 Frankie Neil
1904 Joe Bowker1
1905–07 Jimmy Walsh1
1910–14 Johnny Coulon
1914–17 Kid Williams
1917–20 Pete Herman
1920 Joe Lynch
1920–21 Joe Lynch,
Pete Herman,
Johnny Buff
1922 Johnny Buff,
Joe Lynch
1923 Joe Lynch
1924 Joe Lynch,
Abe Goldstein, Eddie “Cannonball” Martin
1925 Eddie “Cannonball” Martin,
Charlie (Phil) Rosenberg3
1927–28 Bud Taylor (NBA)1
1929–34 Al Brown
1935 Al Brown,
Baltazar Sangchili
1936 Baltazar Sangchili,
Tony Marino,
Sixto Escobar
1937 Sixto Escobar,
Harry Jeffra
1938 Harry Jeffra,
Sixto Escobar
1939–40 Sixto Escobar2
1940–42 Lou Salica
1942–46 Manuel Ortiz
1947 Manuel Ortiz,
Harold Dade
1948–50 Manuel Ortiz
1950–52 Vic Toweel
1952–54 Jimmy Carruthers2
1954–55 Robert Cohen
1956 Robert Cohen,
Mario D'Agata,
Raul Macias (NBA)
1957 Mario D'Agata,
Alphonse Halimi
1958–59 Alphonse Halimi
1959–60 Jose Becerra2
1960–61 Alphonse Halimi4
1961–62 Johnny Caldwell4
1961–65 Eder Jofre
1965–68 Masahika “Fighting” Harada
1968 Masahika “Fighting” Harada,
Lionel Rose
1969 Lionel Rose,
Ruben Olivares
1970 Ruben Olivares,
Chucho Castillo
1971 Chucho Castillo,
Ruben Olivares
1972 Ruben Olivares,
Rafael Herrera,
Enrique Pinder
1973 Enrique Pinder (WBA),
Romeo Anaya (WBA),
Arnold Taylor (WBA),
Rodolfo Martinez (WBC),
Rafael Herrera
1974 Arnold Taylor (WBA),
Soo Hwan Hong (WBA),
Rafael Herrera (WBC),
Rodolfo Martinez (WBC)
1975 Soo Hwan Hong (WBA),
Alfonso Zamora (WBA),
Rodolfo Martinez (WBC)
1976 Alfonso Zamora (WBA),
Rodolfo Martinez (WBC),
Carlos Zarate (WBC)
1977 Alfonso Zamora (WBA),
Jorge Lujan (WBA),
Carlos Zarate (WBC)
1978 Jorge Lujan (WBA),
Carlos Zarate (WBC)
1979 Jorge Lujan (WBA),
Carlos Zarate (WBC),
Lupe Pintor (WBC)
1980 Jorge Lujan (WBA),
Lupe Pintor (WBC),
Julian Solis (WBA),
Jeff Chandler (WBA)
1981 Lupe Pintor (WBC),
Jeff Chandler (WBA)
1982 Lupe Pintor (WBC),
Jeff Chandler (WBA)
1983 Jeff Chandler (WBA),
Albert Dauila (WBC)
1984 Richie Sandqual (WBA),
Albert Dauila (WBC)
1985 Richard Sandoval (WBA),
Daniel Zaragoza (WBC),
Miguel Lora (WBC)
1986 Richard Sandoval (WBA),
Bernardo Pinango (WBA),
Jeff Fenech (IBF)
1987 Bernardo Pinango (WBA),
Takuya Muguruma (WBA),
Miguel Lora (WBC)
1988 Wilfredo Vásquez (WBA),
Jibaro Perez (WBC),
Moon Sung-gil (WBA),
Orlando Canizales (IBF)
1989 Jibaro Perez (WBC),
Moon Sung-gil (WBA),
Orlando Canizales (IBF),
Kaokor Galaxy (WBA),
Luis Espinosa (WBA)
1990 Orlando Canizales (IBF),
Jibaro Perez (WBC),
Luis Espinosa (WBA)
1991 Greg Richardson (WBC),
Orlando Canizales (IBF),
Luis Espinosa (WBA)
1992 Joichiro Tatsuyoshi (WBC),
Victor Manuel Rabanales (WBC),
Eddie Cook (WBA),
Orlando Gonzales (IBF)
1993 Jorge Julio (WBA),
Byun-Jong-il (WBC),
Orlando Canizales (IBF)
1994 John Michael Johnson (WBA),
Yasuei Yakushiji (WBC),
Orlando Canizales (IBF)
1995 Daorun Chuwatang (WBA),
Yasuei Yakushiji (WBC),
Mbulelo Botile (IBF)
1996–97 Nana Konadu (WBA),
Wayne McCullough (WBC),
Mbulelo Botile (IBF)
1998Nana Konadu (WBA),
Joichiro Tatsuyoshi (WBC),
Tim Austin (IBF)
Paulie Ayala (WBA),
Veeraphol Sahaprom (WBC), Tim Austin (IBF)
2002Johnny Bredahl (WBA),
Veeraphol Sahaprom (WBC),
Tim Austin (IBF)
2003–04Johnny Bredahl (WBA),
Veerapol Sahaprom (WBC), Rafael Marquez (IBF)
2005Wladimir Sidorenko (WBA), Hozumi Hasegawa (WBC), Rafael Marquez (IBF)
1. Abandoned title.
2. Retired.
3. Deprived of title for failing to make weight.
4. Recognized in Europe.

Information Please® Database, © 2007 Pearson Education, Inc. All rights reserved.

FeatherweightOther World Boxing Titleholders

More on Bantamweight from Infoplease:

Premium Partner Content
HighBeam Research
Documents Images and Maps Reference
(from Newspapers, Magazines, Journals, Newswires, Transcripts and Books)

Research our extensive archive of more than 80 million articles from 6,500 publications.

Additional search results provided by HighBeam Research, LLC. © Copyright 2005. All rights reserved.

24 X 7

Private Tutor

Click Here for Details
24 x 7 Tutor Availability
Unlimited Online Tutoring
1-on-1 Tutoring