| Share


1889 Dal Hawkins1
1890 Billy Murphy
1900 George Dixon
1900–01 Terry McGovern
1901 Young Corbett1
1901–12 Abe Attell
1912–23 Johnny Kilbane
1923 Eugene Criqui
1923–25 Johnny Dundee1
1925–27 Louis (Kid) Kaplan1
1927–28 Benny Bass
1928 Tony Canzoneri
1928–29 Andre Routis
1929–32 Battling Battalino1
1932 Tommy Paul (NBA),
Kid Chocolate (N.Y.)
1933–36 Freddie Miller
1936–37 Petey Sarron
1937–38 Henry Armstrong1
1938–40 Joey Archibald
1940–41 Harry Jefra,
Joey Archibald
1941–42 Chalky Wright
1942–48 Willie Pep
1948–49 Sandy Saddler2
1949–50 Willie Pep
1950–57 Sandy Saddler
1957–59 Kid Bassey
1959–63 Davey Moore
1963–64 Sugar Ramos
1964–67 Vicente Saldivar2
1968 Howard Winstone,
José Legra,3
Paul Rojas (WBA),
Sho Saijo (WBA)
1969 Sho Saijo (WBA),
Johnny Famechon3
1970 Sho Saijo (WBA),
Johnny Famechon,3
Vicente Salvidar,3
Kuniaki Shibata3
1971 Sho Saijo (WBA),
Antonio Gomez (WBA),
Kuniaki Shibata (WBC)
1972 Antonio Gomez (WBA),
Ernesto Marcel (WBA),
Kuniaki Shibata (WBC),
Clemente Sanchez (WBC),
José Legra (WBC)
1973 Ernesto Marcel (WBA),
José Legra (WBC),
Eder Jofre (WBC)
1974 Ernesto Marcel (WBA),2
Ruben Olivares (WBA),
Alexis Arguello (WBA),
Eder Jofre (WBC),
Bobby Chacon (WBC)
1975 Alexis Arguello (WBA),
Bobby Chacon (WBC),
Ruben Olivares (WBC),
David Kotey (WBC)
1976 Alexis Arguello (WBA),2
David Kotey (WBC),
Danny Lopez (WBC)
1977 Rafael Ortega (WBA),
Danny Lopez (WBC)
1978 Rafael Ortega (WBA),
Cecilio Lastra (WBA),
Eusebio Pedroza (WBA),
Danny Lopez (WBC)
1979 Eusebio Pedroza (WBA),
Danny Lopez (WBC)
1980 Eusebio Pedroza (WBA),
Danny Lopez (WBC),
Salvador Sanchez (WBC)
1981 Eusebio Pedroza (WBA),
Salvador Sanchez (WBC)
1982 Eusebio Pedroza (WBA),
Salvador Sanchez (WBC)4
1983 Juan Laporte (WBC),
Eusebio Pedroza (WBA)
1984 Wilfred Gomez (WBC),
Eusebio Pedroza (WBA)
1985 Eusebio Pedroza (WBA),
Barry McGuigan (WBA),
Azumah Nelson (WBC)
1986 Barry McGuigan (WBA),
Stevie Cruz (WBA),
Azumah Nelson (WBC)
1987 Azumah Nelson (WBC),
Antonio Esparragoza (WBA)
1988 Calvin Grove (IBF),
Jorge Paez (IBF),
Antonio Esparragoza (WBA),
Jeff Fenech (WBC)
1989 Jorge Paez (IBF),
Antonio Esparragoza (WBA),
Jeff Fenech (WBC)
1990 Marcos Villasana (WBC),
Antonio Esparragoza (WBA),
Jorge Paez (IBF)
1991 Yung-Kyun Park (WBA),
Troy Dorsey (IBF),
Marcos Villagana (WBC)
1992 Paul Hodkinson (WBC),
Manuel Medina (IBF),
Yung-Kyun Park (WBA)
1993 Yung-Kyun Park (WBA),
Goyo Vargas (WBC),
Tom Johnson (IBF)
1994 Eloy Rojas (WBA),
Kevin Kelley (WBC),
Tom Johnson (IBF)
1995 Eloy Rojas (WBA),
Alejandro Gonzalez (WBC),
Tom Johnson (IBF)
1996 Wilfredo Vázquez (WBA),
Luisto Espinoza (WBC),
Tom Johnson (IBF)
1997 Elroy Rojas (WBA),
Luisito Espinoza (WBC),
Tom Johnson (IBF)
1998vacant (WBA),
Luisito Espinoza (WBC),
Manuel Medina (IBF)
1999Freddie Norwood (WBA),
Cesar Soto (WBC),
Manuel Medina (IBF)
2000Freddie Norwood (WBA), Guty Espadas (WBC), Paul Ingle (IBF)
2001Derrick Gainer (WBA), Erik Morales (WBC), Frankie Toledo (IBF)
2002Derrick Gainer (WBA),
vacant (WBC),
Johnny Tapia (IBF)
2003Derrick Gainer (WBA), Erik Morales (WBC),
Manuel Marquez (IBF)
2004In-Jin Chi (WBC), Juan Manuel Marquez (WBA, IBF)
2005Chris John (WBA), In-Jin Chi (WBC), Juan Manuel Marquez (IBF)
1. Abandoned title.
2. Retired.
3. Recognized in Europe, Mexico, and Asia.
4. Killed in auto accident.

Information Please® Database, © 2007 Pearson Education, Inc. All rights reserved.

LightweightOther World Boxing TitleholdersBantamweight

More on Featherweight from Infoplease:

Premium Partner Content
HighBeam Research
Documents Images and Maps Reference
(from Newspapers, Magazines, Journals, Newswires, Transcripts and Books)

Research our extensive archive of more than 80 million articles from 6,500 publications.

Additional search results provided by HighBeam Research, LLC. © Copyright 2005. All rights reserved.

24 X 7

Private Tutor

Click Here for Details
24 x 7 Tutor Availability
Unlimited Online Tutoring
1-on-1 Tutoring