| Share

Final AP Top 20

Writers' poll taken before tournament.

  Before NCAAsHead CoachFinal Record
1Temple29–1John Chaney32–2
2Arizona31–2Lute Olson35–3
3Purdue27–3Gene Keady29–4
4Oklahoma30–3Billy Tubbs35–4
5Duke24–6Mike Krzyzewski28–7
6Kentucky25–5Eddie Sutton27–6
7North Carolina24–6Dean Smith27–7
8Pittsburgh23–6Paul Evans24–7
9Syracuse25–8Jim Boeheim26–9
10Michigan24–7Bill Frieder26–8
11Bradley26–4Stan Albeck26–5
12UNLV27–5Jerry Tarkanian28–6
13Wyoming26–5Benny Dees26–6
14North Carolina St.24–7Jim Valvano24–8
15Loyola, CA27–3Paul Westhead28–4
16Illinois22–9Lou Henson23–10
17Iowa22–9Tom Davis24–10
18Xavier, OH26–3Pete Gillen26–4
19BYU25–5Ladell Andersen26–6
20Kansas St.22–8Lon Kruger25–9
Note: Unranked Kansas (21–11, Larry Brown, 27–11) won the NCAAs.

Information Please® Database, © 2007 Pearson Education, Inc. All rights reserved.

1988 College Basketball RecapMajor Conference Champions

Premium Partner Content
HighBeam Research
Documents Images and Maps Reference
(from Newspapers, Magazines, Journals, Newswires, Transcripts and Books)

Research our extensive archive of more than 80 million articles from 6,500 publications.

Additional search results provided by HighBeam Research, LLC. © Copyright 2005. All rights reserved.

24 X 7

Private Tutor

Click Here for Details
24 x 7 Tutor Availability
Unlimited Online Tutoring
1-on-1 Tutoring