| Share

Major Conference Champions

ConferenceRegular SeasonTournament
Big 6Kansas/Missouri/Oklahoma (8–2)
Big 7Colorado (11–1)
Big 10Purdue (10–2)
IvyDartmouth (11–1)
Missouri ValleyOklahoma A&M (12–0)
New EnglandRhode Island St. (8–0)
PCC NorthOregon St. (12–4)
PCC SouthUSC (10–2)*
SECAlabama (14–4)Kentucky
SouthernDuke (13–2)N. Carolina
SWCRice (10–2)
*Won playoff for league championship.
Note: Big 10 selected 2nd place Indiana (9–3) to go to NCAAs because the Hoosiers beat Purdue twice during regular season.

Information Please® Database, © 2007 Pearson Education, Inc. All rights reserved.

1940 College Basketball RecapNCAA & NIT Tournament Teams

More on Major Conference Champions from Infoplease:

24 X 7

Private Tutor

Click Here for Details
24 x 7 Tutor Availability
Unlimited Online Tutoring
1-on-1 Tutoring