| Share

National League

Multiple champions: Atlanta, Cincinnati and LA Dodgers (5); NY Mets and St. Louis (4); Philadelphia (3); Florida, Pittsburgh, San Diego and San Francisco (2).

Year Winner Manager Series Loser Manager
1969 E–New York Gil Hodges 3-0 W–Atlanta Lum Harris
1970 W–Cincinnati Sparky Anderson 3-0 E–Pittsburgh Danny Murtaugh
1971 E–Pittsburgh Danny Murtaugh 3-1 (LWWW) W–San Francisco Charlie Fox
1972 W–Cincinnati Sparky Anderson 3-2 (LWLWW) E–Pittsburgh Bill Virdon
1973 E–New York Yogi Berra 3-2 (LWWLW) W–Cincinnati Sparky Anderson
1974 W–Los Angeles Walter Alston 3-1 (WWLW) E–Pittsburgh Danny Murtaugh
1975 W–Cincinnati Sparky Anderson 3-0 E–Pittsburgh Danny Murtaugh
1976 W–Cincinnati Sparky Anderson 3-0 E–Philadelphia Danny Ozark
1977 W–Los Angeles Tommy Lasorda 3-1 (LWWW) E–Philadelphia Danny Ozark
1978 W–Los Angeles Tommy Lasorda 3-1 (WWLW) E–Philadelphia Danny Ozark
1979 E–Pittsburgh Chuck Tanner 3-0 W–Cincinnati John McNamara
1980 E–Philadelphia Dallas Green 3-2 (WLLWW) W–Houston Bill Virdon
1981 W–Los Angeles Tommy Lasorda 3-2 (WLLWW) E–Montreal Jim Fanning
1982 E–St. Louis Whitey Herzog 3-0 W–Atlanta Joe Torre
1983 E–Philadelphia Paul Owens 3-1 (WLWW) W–Los Angeles Tommy Lasorda
1984 W–San Diego Dick Williams 3-2 (LLWWW) E–Chicago Jim Frey
1985 E–St. Louis Whitey Herzog 4-2 (LLWWWW) W–Los Angeles Tommy Lasorda
1986 E–New York Davey Johnson 4-2 (LWWLWW) W–Houston Hal Lanier
1987 E–St. Louis Whitey Herzog 4-3 (WLWLLWW) W–San Francisco Roger Craig
1988 W–Los Angeles Tommy Lasorda 4-3 (LWLWWLW) E–New York Davey Johnson
1989 W–San Francisco Roger Craig 4-1 (WLWWW) E–Chicago Don Zimmer
1990 W–Cincinnati Lou Piniella 4-2 (LWWWLW) E–Pittsburgh Jim Leyland
1991 W–Atlanta Bobby Cox 4-3 (LWWLLWW) E–Pittsburgh Jim Leyland
1992 W–Atlanta Bobby Cox 4-3 (WWLWLLW) E–Pittsburgh Jim Leyland
1993 E–Philadelphia Jim Fregosi 4-2 (WLLWWW) W–Atlanta Bobby Cox
1994 Not held     
1995 E–Atlanta Bobby Cox 4-0 C–Cincinnati Davey Johnson
1996E–AtlantaBobby Cox4-3 (WLLLWWW)C–St. LouisTony La Russa
1997WC–FloridaJim Leyland4-2 (WLWLWW)E–AtlantaBobby Cox
1998W–San DiegoBruce Bochy4-2 (WWWLLW)E–AtlantaBobby Cox
1999E–AtlantaBobby Cox4-2 (WWWLLW)WC–New YorkBobby Valentine
2000WC–New YorkBobby Valentine4-1 (WWLWW)C–St. LouisTony La Russa
2001W–ArizonaBob Brenly4-1 (WLWWW)E–AtlantaBobby Cox
2002WC–San FranciscoDusty Baker4-1 (WWLWW)C–St. LouisTony La Russa
2003 WC–Florida Jack McKeon 4-3 (WLLLWWW) C–Chicago Dusty Baker
2004 C–St. LouisTony La Russa 4-3 (WWLLLWW) WC–Houston Phil Garner

NLCS Most Valuable Players

Winners who did not play for NLCS champions are in bold type.

Multiple winner: Steve Garvey (2).

1977 Dusty Baker, LA, OF
1978 Steve Garvey, LA, 1B
1979 Willie Stargell, Pit., 1B
1980 Manny Trillo, Phi., 2B
1981 Burt Hooton, LA, P
1982 Darrell Porter, St.L., C
1983 Gary Matthews, Phi., OF
1984 Steve Garvey, SD, 1B
1985 Ozzie Smith, St.L., SS
1986 Mike Scott, Hou., P
1987 Jeff Leonard, SF, OF
1988 Orel Hershiser, LA, P
1989 Will Clark, SF, 1B
1990 Rob Dibble, Cin., P
 & Randy Myers, Cin., P
1991 Steve Avery, Atl., P
1992 John Smoltz, Atl., P
1993 Curt Schilling, Phi., P
1994 LCS not held.
1995 Mike Devereaux, Atl., OF
1996Javy Lopez, Atl., C
1997Livan Hernandez, Fla., P
1998Sterling Hitchcock, SD, P
1999Eddie Perez, Atl., C
2000Mike Hampton, NY, P
2001Craig Counsell, Ari., 2B
2002Benito Santiago, SF, C
2003 Ivan Rodriguez, Fla., C
2004 Albert Pujols, St.L, 1B

Information Please® Database, © 2007 Pearson Education, Inc. All rights reserved.

League Championship SeriesAmerican League

More on National League from Infoplease:

Premium Partner Content
HighBeam Research
Documents Images and Maps Reference
(from Newspapers, Magazines, Journals, Newswires, Transcripts and Books)

Research our extensive archive of more than 80 million articles from 6,500 publications.

Additional search results provided by HighBeam Research, LLC. © Copyright 2005. All rights reserved.

24 X 7

Private Tutor

Click Here for Details
24 x 7 Tutor Availability
Unlimited Online Tutoring
1-on-1 Tutoring