| Share

World Champions

Garry Kasparov became the youngest man to win the world chess championship when he beat fellow Russian Anatoly Karpov in 1985 at age 22. In 1993, Kasparov and then-#1 challenger Nigel Short of England broke away from the established International Chess Federation (FIDE) to form the Professional Chess Association (the PCA was disbanded in 1998). FIDE retaliated by stripping Kasparov of the world title and arranging a playoff that was won by Karpov, the former title-holder. Karpov successfully defended the FIDE title several times before failing to show up for the 1999 FIDE World Championship Tournament that was won by Alexander Khalifman. Indian Viswanathan Anand won the 2000 FIDE World Championship. The FIDE title holders between 2000 and 2006 include, Ruslan Ponomariov (2002), Rustam Kasimdzhanov (2004), and Veselin Topalov (2005).

In his first title defense in five years, Kasparov faced world #2 Vladimir Kramnik for 16 matches in the unofficial (though more widely recognized) world championship from Oct. 8-Nov. 4, 2000 in London. The 25-year-old Kramnik defeated the longtime world champion 81/2-61/2 in a stunning result. Kasparov failed to win a single game, but despite the loss is still the top-ranked player in the world.

The split between the Classical World Chess Championships and FIDE World Chess Championships ended in 2006 in one FIDE World Chess Championship. The historic match between champions Vladimir Kramnik and Veselin Topalov ended with Vladimir Kramnik as the undisputed World Chess Champion.

1866-94 Wilhelm Steinitz, Austria
1894-1921 Emanuel Lasker, Germany
1921-27 Jose Capablanca, Cuba
1927-35 Alexander Alekhine, France
1935-37 Max Euwe, Holland
1937-46 Alexander Alekhine, France
1948-57 Mikhail Botvinnik, USSR
1957-58 Vassily Smyslov, USSR
1958-59 Mikhail Botvinnik, USSR
1960-61 Mikhail Tal, USSR
1961-63 Mikhail Botvinnik, USSR
1963-69 Tigran Petrosian, USSR
1969-72 Boris Spassky, USSR
1972-75 Bobby Fischer, USA*
1975-85 Anatoly Karpov, USSR
1985-2000 Garry Kasparov, RUS
2000–2006 Vladimir Kramnik, RUS
2007–2008 Viswanathan Anand , India
*Fischer defaulted the championship in 1975.

Information Please® Database, © 2007 Pearson Education, Inc. All rights reserved.

Chess U.S. Champions

More on World Champions from Infoplease:

  • Figure Skating: World Champions - Figure Skating: World Champions Men 1960 Alain Giletti, France 1961 No competition 1962 Donald ...
  • World Champions - World Champions Officially called the World Championship of Drivers and based on Formula One (Grand ...
  • CURRENT WORLD CHAMPIONS - CURRENT WORLD CHAMPIONS (As of Sept. 5, 2006) Weight class WBC WBA Heavyweight Oleg Maskaev ...
  • Soap Box Derby - Soap Box Derby All-American Soap Box Derby At the 67th annual Soap Box Derby on a rain-soaked track ...
  • Nordic Combined - Nordic Combined World Cup Champions 1 Bjarte Engen Vik, Norway 2 Hannu Manninen, Finland 3 Ladislav ...

24 X 7

Private Tutor

Click Here for Details
24 x 7 Tutor Availability
Unlimited Online Tutoring
1-on-1 Tutoring