| Share

The Black Sox:

Eight Chicago White Sox players who were banned from baseball for life in 1921 for allegedly throwing the 1919 World Series— RHP Eddie Cicotte (1884-1969), OF Happy Felsch (1891-1964), 1B Chick Gandil (1887-1970), OF Shoeless Joe Jackson (1889-1951), INF Fred McMullin (1891-1952), SS Swede Risberg (1894-1975), 3B-SS Buck Weaver (1890-1956), and LHP Lefty Williams (1893-1959).

Information Please® Database, © 2007 Pearson Education, Inc. All rights reserved.

Larry BirdA - CEarl (Red) Blaik

More on Black Sox from Infoplease:

  • Black Sox scandal - Black Sox scandal Black Sox scandal, episode in which eight members of the Chicago White Sox, the ...
  • Shoeless Joe Jackson - Jackson, Shoeless Joe Jackson, Shoeless Joe (Joseph Jefferson Jackson), 1887–1951, American ...
  • This Day in History: September 28 - September 28 Yesterday Tomorrow 1542 Portuguese explorer Juan Rodríguez Cabrillo arrived at ...
  • Arnold Rothstein - Rothstein, Arnold Rothstein, Arnold , 1883–1928, American gambler, b. New York City. ...
  • Kenesaw Mountain Landis - Landis, Kenesaw Mountain Landis, Kenesaw Mountain , 1866–1944, American jurist and ...

Premium Partner Content
HighBeam Research
Documents Images and Maps Reference
(from Newspapers, Magazines, Journals, Newswires, Transcripts and Books)

Research our extensive archive of more than 80 million articles from 6,500 publications.

Additional search results provided by HighBeam Research, LLC. © Copyright 2005. All rights reserved.

24 X 7

Private Tutor

Click Here for Details
24 x 7 Tutor Availability
Unlimited Online Tutoring
1-on-1 Tutoring