| Share
 

Clive Barker

writer, director
Born: 10/5/1952
Birthplace: Liverpool, England

Barker represents one of popular fiction's rarest combinations, a best-selling author who is also praised by his peers as a highly talented writer in the tradition of Henry James and Edgar Allan Poe. He began writing short stories while running the London theater company he founded at the age of 21. His six-volume collection Books of Blood (1984–86) includes dozens of these unflinchingly grotesque stories, many of which have been adapted as horror movies. After early disappointments with some of these adaptations, Barker began adapting and directing his own work. Among his best-known films are the Hellraiser series (1987, 1988, 1992, 1996) and Candyman and its sequel (1992, 1995).


Information Please® Database, © 2007 Pearson Education, Inc. All rights reserved.

Barenaked LadiesBEllen Barkin

More on Clive Barker from Infoplease:


Premium Partner Content
HighBeam Research
Documents Images and Maps Reference
(from Newspapers, Magazines, Journals, Newswires, Transcripts and Books)

Research our extensive archive of more than 80 million articles from 6,500 publications.

Additional search results provided by HighBeam Research, LLC. © Copyright 2005. All rights reserved.

24 X 7

Private Tutor

Click Here for Details
24 x 7 Tutor Availability
Unlimited Online Tutoring
1-on-1 Tutoring